Cannon, Robertson, Vaughan And Bell Winners On Election Day

Nov 6, 2013

Several of North Carolina’s largest cities are getting new mayors. 

Democrat Patrick Cannon will be the next mayor in Charlotte. He defeated Edward Peacock and replaces Anthony Foxx, who served two terms as mayor of the state’s largest city before being named the US Secretary of Transportation earlier this year.

Nat Robertson is the new mayor in Fayetteville. He beat Val Applewhite by just a few hundred votes to fill an open seat.

Meanwhile, voters in Greensboro decided against giving incumbent Robbie Perkins another term. Nancy Vaughan defeated Perkins with more than 55 percent of the vote. She becomes the city’s fourth new mayor in the last four elections.

In Durham, incumbent Mayor Bill Bell defeated Sylvester Williams.  It marks the second consecutive time he has defeated Williams in a lopsided outcome. Bell will become a seven-term mayor. These were the final elections before new state-wide voting laws take effect. Voter turnout statewide was about 14 percent.