The Devil Makes Three: Newport Folk 2014

Jul 26, 2014
Originally published on July 26, 2014 3:43 pm

A thumbnail description of The Devil Makes Three — "acoustic string-band music with no drummer" — makes its music seem old-fashioned, even quaint. But the California trio plays with boozy aggression and unhinged intensity. If there were a Newport Punk Festival (and, really, why shouldn't there be?), The Devil Makes Three wouldn't be out of place in its lineup, amplification be damned.

Hear the group perform as part of the 2014 Newport Folk Festival, recorded live on Friday, July 25 in Newport, R.I.

Set List

  • "Beneath The Piano"
  • "Hallelu"
  • "Walk On Boy"
  • "Statesboro Blues"
  • "Forty Days"
  • "Gracefully Facedown"
  • "Johnson Family"
  • "A Moment's Rest"
  • "Graveyard"
  • "Spinning Like A Top"
  • "Worse Or Better"
  • "Do Wrong Right"
  • "St. James Infirmary"
Copyright 2018 NPR. To see more, visit