Aoife O'Donovan, Live In Concert: Newport Folk 2014

Jul 28, 2014
Originally published on February 5, 2018 12:00 pm

Aoife O'Donovan got her start in a pair of folk-leaning groups, Sometymes Why and Crooked Still, the latter of which became one of the country's top modern string bands. More recently, though, O'Donovan has established herself as a formidable folk-pop solo artist, with a lovely, Tucker Martine-produced debut album called Fossils.

O'Donovan has sung with Chris Thile and Yo-Yo Ma's Goat Rodeo project, and written for Alison Krauss & Union Station. But she was accompanied only by bassist Paul Kowert at the 2014 Newport Folk Festival, recorded live on Saturday, July 26 in Newport, R.I.

Set List

  • "Lay My Burden Down"
  • "Fire Engine"
  • "Thursday's Child"
  • "Oh, Mama"
  • "Hornets"
  • "Lovesick Redstick Blues"
  • "Pearls"
  • "Red & White & Blue & Gold"
  • "Bright Sunny South"
  • "Beekeeper"
  • "You Turn Me On, I'm A Radio"
Copyright 2018 NPR. To see more, visit