News http://wunc.org en Panel Meets To Look At Sea-Level Rise... Again http://wunc.org/post/panel-meets-look-sea-level-rise-again <p></p><p>The panel responsible for studying sea-level rise along North Carolina's coast met Monday in New Bern. It was the first meeting under a new mandate to look at the forecast for sea-level rise for a shorter time period.</p><p>Four years ago the Coastal Resources Commission's science panel issued a dire report saying oceans could rise 39 inches by the year 2100. The state then issued a moratorium on using that prediction for policy purposes. The new guidelines for the science panel call for a 30-year prediction.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:05:09 +0000 WUNC News 39386 at http://wunc.org Panel Meets To Look At Sea-Level Rise... Again 'SolarBees' Poised To Churn Jordan Lake http://wunc.org/post/solarbees-poised-churn-jordan-lake <p>State environmental officials are overseeing the installation of special machines in Jordan Lake starting today.&nbsp;</p><p>SolarBees are water circulators intended to prevent algae from storm water runoff from forming in the lake.&nbsp; Installers are placing a total of 36 machines: 12 in the Haw River arm of the lake and 24 more in the Morgan Creek tributary. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:16:31 +0000 Gurnal Scott 39369 at http://wunc.org 'SolarBees' Poised To Churn Jordan Lake NC Senate Committe Relaxes Restrictions On Proposed County Tax Legislation http://wunc.org/post/nc-senate-committe-relaxes-restrictions-proposed-county-tax-legislation <p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:23:55 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39370 at http://wunc.org NC Senate Committe Relaxes Restrictions On Proposed County Tax Legislation How To Sell A Home? Let Someone Else Live There http://wunc.org/post/how-sell-home-let-someone-else-live-there <p>About a year ago, Cora Blinsman’s mom passed away. Needless to say, it was a really hard on her. She started taking stock of her own life. Cora had been a full-time, stay-at-home mom for 20 years, and she was feeling burnt out. She needed space. So … she got a lot of it.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:46:37 +0000 Eric Mennel 39336 at http://wunc.org How To Sell A Home? Let Someone Else Live There Carl Kasell Helps With Surprise Marriage Proposal http://wunc.org/post/carl-kasell-helps-surprise-marriage-proposal <p>Six months before Faith Kline met Howie Sanborn she devised a list with 126 points on it; criteria that her future husband would have to match before she said, "I do."</p><p>And then, the two saw each other across some bike racks on a cold March morning in 2012. Howie was participating in a triathlon. He thought she was cute. She remembers his twinkling eyes.</p><p>The problem was, Faith was there to watch her friend's children during the race and Howie wasn't sure - Were those Faith's kids? Was she with that other guy?</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:28:33 +0000 Carol Jackson 39334 at http://wunc.org Carl Kasell Helps With Surprise Marriage Proposal Ryan Adams Live Webcast Friday http://wunc.org/post/ryan-adams-live-webcast-friday <p></p><p>Can't be at this year's Newport Folk Festival? We'll bring some of the folk festival home to you with a special audio webcast from Ryan Adams.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:31:23 +0000 WUNC Updates 39178 at http://wunc.org Ryan Adams Live Webcast Friday Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara http://wunc.org/post/meet-jasmine-beach-ferrara <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://jbeachferrara.com/">Rev. Jasmine Beach-Ferrara</a> is an ordained minister and published author who uses her faith work and fiction writing to create new strategies for supporting LGBT communities in the South.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:33:38 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39335 at http://wunc.org Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara Downtown Chapel Hill Will Be Changing, Help Make The Plan http://wunc.org/post/downtown-chapel-hill-will-be-changing-help-make-plan <p>There are two informal gatherings this week in which the public is invited to share ideas about the future of downtown Chapel Hill, including the development of Rosemary and Franklin streets. The project is called <a href="http://www.townofchapelhill.org/index.aspx?page=2216">Chapel Hill Downtown Imagined</a>:</p><p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="281" mozallowfullscreen="" src="//player.vimeo.com/video/100352539" webkitallowfullscreen="" width="500"></iframe></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:35:16 +0000 WUNC News 39330 at http://wunc.org Downtown Chapel Hill Will Be Changing, Help Make The Plan NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, July 21 http://wunc.org/post/nc-general-assembly-stories-we-re-following-week-monday-july-21 <p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:01:54 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39245 at http://wunc.org NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, July 21 Rep. Jim Fulghum Of Wake County Dies http://wunc.org/post/rep-jim-fulghum-wake-county-dies <p>Wake County state representative&nbsp;Jim Fulghum&nbsp;who was undergoing treatment for cancer has died. &nbsp;House Speaker Thom Tillis confirmed Fulghum's passing in a statement on the speaker's website. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 16:13:23 +0000 Gurnal Scott 39305 at http://wunc.org Rep. Jim Fulghum Of Wake County Dies