William Friday http://wunc.org en Longtime UNC President Friday Memorialized http://wunc.org/post/longtime-unc-president-friday-memorialized <p>More than a thousand people gathered today in Memorial Hall on the campus of UNC-Chapel Hill to remember Bill Friday. The longtime UNC system president and TV show host died last week at the age of 92.<br> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 20:15:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2946 at http://wunc.org Longtime UNC President Friday Memorialized Remembering William Friday http://wunc.org/post/remembering-william-friday <p><a href="http://www.unc.edu/spotlight/William-Friday" target="_blank">Bill Friday</a> spent his entire adult life devoted to higher education in North Carolina, including serving as president of the University of North Carolina system for 30 years.</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 13:50:18 +0000 Frank Stasio & Shawn Wen & Nicole Campell 3692 at http://wunc.org Remembering William Friday Remembering Bill Friday http://wunc.org/post/remembering-bill-friday <p>Former UNC system president Bill Friday has died. Friday passed away in his sleep this morning at his home in Chapel Hill. He was 92 years old. Friday was president of UNC for 30 years, and steered it through desegregation, unprecedented growth, and numerous political battles. He also hosted more than 18-hundred episodes of North Carolina People on UNC-TV.&nbsp; Dave DeWitt has this remembrance of one of the most important and most visible North Carolinians of his time.<br> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 17:41:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2641 at http://wunc.org Remembering Bill Friday William Friday http://wunc.org/post/william-friday <p>Former UNC System President William Friday died this morning at the age of 92.</p><p>He led the system for 30 years through desegregation and expansion, and continued to have a strong influence on North Carolina long after retirement. WUNC education reporter Dave Dewitt joins host Frank Stasio to talk about the legacy of William Friday.</p><p></p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 15:30:00 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 3703 at http://wunc.org William Friday Friday Improving http://wunc.org/post/friday-improving <p>Bill Friday's condition is improving. But the former UNC system president still remains in critical condition at UNC Hospitals.<br> Fri, 18 May 2012 18:10:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2502 at http://wunc.org Friday Improving Panel Analyzes College Sports http://wunc.org/post/panel-analyzes-college-sports <p>It's a busy college sports week in North Carolina. An event tonight at UNC Chapel Hill will take a closer look at how college sports may look in the future.<br><br><strong>Dave DeWitt: </strong>From scandals to championships, the worst and best of college sports has been on display in the state in just the past year. Tonight's discussion will bring together several critics of the corrupting influence of money on college sports, and what changes might be made to make it better.<br> Tue, 28 Feb 2012 08:25:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3188 at http://wunc.org