Department of Motor Vehicles http://wunc.org en Tag Fees, Vehicle Tax Now Due Together http://wunc.org/post/tag-fees-vehicle-tax-now-due-together <p></p><p>Drivers in North Carolina now have to pay their vehicle property tax and registration at the same time if they want to get their tags.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 11:10:44 +0000 Will Michaels 21797 at http://wunc.org Tag Fees, Vehicle Tax Now Due Together Non-compliance With Federal Law Could Reshape NC DOT Budget http://wunc.org/post/non-compliance-federal-law-could-reshape-nc-dot-budget <p>North Carolina is among 33 states that face penalties for not complying with federal regulations designed to crack down on drunken drivers.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 13:10:22 +0000 Will Michaels 11871 at http://wunc.org McCrory And Tata Defend Creation Of Pink Licenses http://wunc.org/post/mccrory-and-tata-defend-creation-pink-licenses <p>Governor Pat McCrory took on a major state issue following a meeting Tuesday with several North Carolina mayors.&nbsp;&nbsp; McCrory's meeting with members of the Metro Mayors Coalition addressed issues that are critical to cities and towns trying to cope with sequestration, transportation issues and taxation.&nbsp; The Governor also answered questions on a hot legislative issue.&nbsp; He disagrees with immigrants' advocates who say pink driver's licenses are no more than a scarlet letter.</p><p></p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 12:28:43 +0000 Gurnal Scott 11542 at http://wunc.org McCrory And Tata Defend Creation Of Pink Licenses Civil Rights Groups Urge DMV To Grant Immigrant Driver's Licenses http://wunc.org/post/civil-rights-groups-urge-dmv-grant-immigrant-drivers-licenses <p>The North Carolina ACLU is urging the state DMV to continue issuing driver's licenses to some immigrants.&nbsp;<br><br>The state's Department of Motor Vehicles has suspended its practice of granting licenses to immigrants allowed in the country under a federal policy, Immigrants registered under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals initiative are allowed to stay in the country if they meet certain guidelines such as having arrived in the country before age 16, graduating high school or attending college or serving in the military.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 16:40:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 7845 at http://wunc.org New Rules Coming for Truckers http://wunc.org/post/new-rules-coming-truckers <p>There are new regulations coming for the state's truckers and other commercial drivers. The federal government is setting up a database to be used by the Division of Motor Vehicles in all states. Marge Howell works for North Carolina's DMV.<br><br><strong>Marge Howell: </strong>Most of our commercial drivers will have to certify the type of driving they do, whether its intrastate or interstate, and they will also be required to provide their DMV with current medical certification information.<br> Mon, 30 Jan 2012 14:25:00 +0000 Eric Hodge 3350 at http://wunc.org New Hurdle for Teen Drivers http://wunc.org/post/new-hurdle-teen-drivers <p>Teenagers in North Carolina now have to keep driving logs in order to get their drivers license.<br> Mon, 02 Jan 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 3618 at http://wunc.org