Redistricting http://wunc.org en Redistricting: Who Draws The Lines? http://wunc.org/post/redistricting-who-draws-lines <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size:10pt;"><font size="2"><span style="font-size:11pt;">In 1964, the Supreme Court held that the voting power of each individual should be equal. But do current voting districts reflect the principle of “one person, one vote”? </span></font></span></font></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:38:22 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37222 at http://wunc.org Redistricting: Who Draws The Lines? Battle Over Redistricting Lands In State Supreme Court http://wunc.org/post/battle-over-redistricting-lands-state-supreme-court <p>Opponents of the legislative and congressional districts drawn in 2011 by the General Assembly argued in court today that those boundaries should be thrown out.<br /><br />The effort to scrap the new legislative and congressional boundaries landed in the state Supreme Court today. Attorneys for groups from the Southern Coalition for Social Justice to the state NAACP told justices the boundaries for the newly drawn maps are unconstitutional. They want the court to postpone the candidate filing period for this year's elections as well as the May sixth primary date.</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:43:10 +0000 Jessica Jones 28510 at http://wunc.org Battle Over Redistricting Lands In State Supreme Court Court Upholds N.C. District Maps http://wunc.org/post/court-upholds-nc-district-maps <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">RALEIGH, N.C. - A three-judge panel on Monday upheld the boundaries for North Carolina's legislative and congressional seats drawn by Republicans, saying the lines don't damage constitutional rights of citizens.</span></p><p>The Superior Court judges, in a unanimous 171-page decision, rejected the arguments of Democratic voters, civil rights groups and election advocates who sued over the lines and argued they were racial gerrymanders. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 15:31:30 +0000 Gary D. Robertson - Associated Press 18530 at http://wunc.org Court Upholds N.C. District Maps Putting A Stop To Gerrymandering http://wunc.org/post/putting-stop-gerrymandering <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In 2010, when Republicans won control of the state House and Senate, they radically redrew voting districts in favor of their own party.&nbsp; In previous elections, Democrats have done the same.&nbsp; Now, there's a bipartisan effort in the state House of Representatives to reform the redistricting process.</span></p><p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 15:00:10 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 13891 at http://wunc.org Putting A Stop To Gerrymandering Redistricting Objections Back In Court http://wunc.org/post/redistricting-objections-back-court <p>A panel of judges is set to hear arguments Monday about whether to uphold or reject North Carolina's newest legislative and congressional districts.</p><p></p> Mon, 25 Feb 2013 12:20:11 +0000 Will Michaels 10933 at http://wunc.org Redistricting Objections Back In Court Redistricting Lawsuit Proceeds http://wunc.org/post/redistricting-lawsuit-proceeds <p>A three-judge panel is allowing two lawsuits against the Republican-drawn redistricting maps to go forward.<br> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3290 at http://wunc.org Judges Hear Arguments in Redistricting Case http://wunc.org/post/judges-hear-arguments-redistricting-case <p>Judges heard more than three hours' worth of arguments yesterday over litigation challenging newly drawn congressional and legislative maps.<br> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 11:05:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 3452 at http://wunc.org Redistricting Foes Ask to Delay Primary http://wunc.org/post/redistricting-foes-ask-delay-primary-0 <p>Plaintiffs in a lawsuit over newly drawn maps for legislative and congressional districts want to delay the state's May primary until July.<br> Mon, 09 Jan 2012 21:25:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 3515 at http://wunc.org Lawmakers Pass Redistricting Corrections http://wunc.org/post/lawmakers-pass-redistricting-corrections <p>State lawmakers have voted to restore omissions in redistricting maps that left out about half a million voters.<br><br>Lawmakers voted mostly along party lines yesterday to pass bills that restored the missing census blocks. A software problem in the program used to draw the maps caused the issues. Republican representative David Lewis said debating these bills is completely unlike the heated discussions over drawing the maps earlier this year.<br> Tue, 08 Nov 2011 11:40:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 7258 at http://wunc.org Opponents of Redistricting Maps File Lawsuit http://wunc.org/post/opponents-redistricting-maps-file-lawsuit <p>In Raleigh today, a group of civil rights and election watchdog organizations filed a legal challenge to newly drawn maps for North Carolina’s legislative and congressional seats. The suit is the second filed this week in Wake County Superior Court alleging the Republican-drawn maps segregate minority voters in order to dilute their statewide influence.</p> Fri, 04 Nov 2011 22:25:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 7264 at http://wunc.org