2012 NC Primary http://wunc.org en Runoff Elections Set http://wunc.org/post/runoff-elections-set <p>The races are set for primary runoff elections in two months.<br><br><strong>Gurnal Scott: </strong>Several Council of State races, congressional contests and state legislative elections will take place in this 2nd primary set for July 17. Gary Bartlett of the State Board of Elections says he hasn't seen more than an eight-percent turnout for a runoff during his tenure. Bartlett adds the low turnout saves the state some money when it re-opens the polls<br> Fri, 18 May 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2503 at http://wunc.org Hotline Helps Voters With Primary Day Questions http://wunc.org/post/hotline-helps-voters-primary-day-questions <p>If you have a questions about today's primary ballot, there is a number to call for assistance.<br> Tue, 08 May 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2600 at http://wunc.org Avoiding Confusion At The Poll http://wunc.org/post/avoiding-confusion-poll <p>Voters will go to the polls tomorrow with a lot of decisions to make. Local and statewide nominees will be determined, as will a constitutional amendment that would ban same-sex marriages and civil unions. Local elections boards have seen a unique set of circumstances in preparing for election day.<br> Mon, 07 May 2012 16:55:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2602 at http://wunc.org Early Voting Period Ends Saturday http://wunc.org/post/early-voting-period-ends-saturday <p>North Carolina's early voting period comes to an end today.<br><br><strong>Gurnal Scott:</strong> Several key races and a controversial amendment question on marriage has kept voters coming out up to this last day to vote before Tuesday's primary. State board of Elections executive director Gary Bartlett says the last two weeks have had ebbs and flows.<br> Sat, 05 May 2012 12:00:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2607 at http://wunc.org Jones Faces GOP Challenger http://wunc.org/post/jones-faces-gop-challenger <p>Congressman Walter Jones has handily won North Carolina’s Third District since 1995.&nbsp; Now it’s re-election time again and this may be his biggest fight yet.<br><br><strong>Leoneda Inge:</strong>&nbsp; For a while, Congressman Walter Jones had a nick-name on Capitol Hill.<br><br><strong>Adam Kokesh:&nbsp; </strong>Welcome back to Adam versus the Man. Joining us tonight is Congressman Walter “Freedom Fries,” formerly known as Walter “Freedom Fries” Jones.<br> Fri, 04 May 2012 13:15:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 2608 at http://wunc.org Jones Faces GOP Challenger Differing Views Of Amendment In Hickory Church http://wunc.org/post/differing-views-amendment-hickory-church <p>North Carolina voters will decide on Tuesday whether to join thirty other states that have amended their constitutions to ban same-sex marriage. North Carolina law already defines marriage as between a man and a woman; the amendment would enshrine heterosexual marriage in the constitution, and ban civil unions. Those for and against the measure have focused their efforts on mobilizing people of faith. Reporter John Biewen followed the debate over gay marriage in an African American church in Hickory.<br> Wed, 02 May 2012 21:40:00 +0000 John Biewen 2615 at http://wunc.org Differing Views Of Amendment In Hickory Church Four GOP Candidates Seeking Auditor Post http://wunc.org/post/four-gop-candidates-seeking-auditor-post <p>The top Republican candidates for State Auditor are seeking support in the final week before ballots are cast.<br> Tue, 01 May 2012 13:55:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2628 at http://wunc.org Democrats Compete For Lt. Governor Nomination http://wunc.org/post/democrats-compete-lt-governor-nomination <p>The Democratic candidates wanting to be the state's next Lieutenant Governor are working to show voters the differences between them.<br><br><strong>Gurnal Scott: </strong>State Senator Eric Mansfield and State Personnel Director Linda Coleman still have a lot of work to do as they seek their party's nomination. Public Policy Polling last week showed more than half of likely Democratic voters surveyed have not made up their minds. Coleman says she thinks their choice should be easy.<br> Mon, 30 Apr 2012 10:10:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2629 at http://wunc.org Many Business Leaders Oppose Amendment http://wunc.org/post/many-business-leaders-oppose-amendment <p>The debate over a proposed constitutional amendment banning gay marriage and civil unions includes its potential economic impact.<br> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 10:10:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 2638 at http://wunc.org Amendment's Impact On Hospital Visits, Medical Decisions Debated http://wunc.org/post/amendments-impact-hospital-visits-medical-decisions-debated <p>With the May 8th vote less than two weeks away, the battle over a proposed constitutional amendment banning gay marriage and civil unions is heating up. For our series examining the arguments over the amendment, Isaac-Davy Aronson looks at one of the claims made by its opponents.<br> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 20:35:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 2723 at http://wunc.org