UNC System http://wunc.org en Debra Saunders-White Officially Installed As NCCU Chancellor http://wunc.org/post/debra-saunders-white-officially-installed-nccu-chancellor <p>Debra Saunders-White was officially installed Friday as the 11th chancellor at North Carolina Central University.&nbsp; She has been serving as the school's leader since last June.&nbsp; She is the university's first female chancellor and only the second woman to lead one of the five historically black colleges in the UNC System.</p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:21:57 +0000 Gurnal Scott 33271 at http://wunc.org Debra Saunders-White Officially Installed As NCCU Chancellor UNC Is Considering Hour Cuts, Other Options To Pay For Health Coverage http://wunc.org/post/unc-considering-hour-cuts-other-options-pay-health-coverage <p></p><p>Individuals are enrolling in health care through the federal online marketplace, but thousands of North Carolinians might find themselves with employer-sponsored health plans next year.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>In January, the Affordable Care Act will require businesses to offer health insurance to full-time employees working 30 hours a week or more. This would now include graduate teaching assistants and visiting faculty at the University of North Carolina.</p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 31681 at http://wunc.org UNC Is Considering Hour Cuts, Other Options To Pay For Health Coverage UNC System President Tom Ross Talks Higher Education http://wunc.org/post/unc-system-president-tom-ross-talks-higher-education <div style="margin-top: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px"><p></p><p></p><br /><p>The <a href="http://www.northcarolina.edu/">UNC System</a>, made up of 17 educational institutions, has seen a reduction in funding over the last several years. Some universities are eliminating positions to try to make up the difference. And tuition hikes place a greater burden on students.&nbsp; UNC System President <a href="http://www.northcarolina.edu/president/index.htm">Tom Ross&nbsp; </a>addressed the budget problems in North Carolina in a conversation with host Frank Stasio on WUNC&#39;s The State of Things.</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 16:05:38 +0000 Frank Stasio & Laura Lee 23556 at http://wunc.org UNC System President Tom Ross Talks Higher Education McCrory Wants To Tie University Funding To Jobs http://wunc.org/post/mccrory-wants-tie-university-funding-jobs <p>Governor Pat McCrory says he has instructed his staff to write legislation that would revamp how state universities are funded. McCrory told the Bill Bennett radio show <a href="http://www.billbennett.com/">Morning in America</a> that universities should be funded not by how many students they enroll, but how many students get jobs after college.</p><p></p><p>"I think some of the educational elite have taken over our education where we're offering courses that have no chance at getting people jobs," McCrory said.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 21:25:31 +0000 Dave DeWitt 9123 at http://wunc.org McCrory Wants To Tie University Funding To Jobs Longtime UNC President Friday Memorialized http://wunc.org/post/longtime-unc-president-friday-memorialized <p>More than a thousand people gathered today in Memorial Hall on the campus of UNC-Chapel Hill to remember Bill Friday. The longtime UNC system president and TV show host died last week at the age of 92.<br> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 20:15:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2946 at http://wunc.org Longtime UNC President Friday Memorialized Remembering William Friday http://wunc.org/post/remembering-william-friday <p><a href="http://www.unc.edu/spotlight/William-Friday" target="_blank">Bill Friday</a> spent his entire adult life devoted to higher education in North Carolina, including serving as president of the University of North Carolina system for 30 years.</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 13:50:18 +0000 Frank Stasio & Shawn Wen & Nicole Campell 3692 at http://wunc.org Remembering William Friday Remembering Bill Friday http://wunc.org/post/remembering-bill-friday <p>Former UNC system president Bill Friday has died. Friday passed away in his sleep this morning at his home in Chapel Hill. He was 92 years old. Friday was president of UNC for 30 years, and steered it through desegregation, unprecedented growth, and numerous political battles. He also hosted more than 18-hundred episodes of North Carolina People on UNC-TV.&nbsp; Dave DeWitt has this remembrance of one of the most important and most visible North Carolinians of his time.<br> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 17:41:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2641 at http://wunc.org Remembering Bill Friday William Friday http://wunc.org/post/william-friday <p>Former UNC System President William Friday died this morning at the age of 92.</p><p>He led the system for 30 years through desegregation and expansion, and continued to have a strong influence on North Carolina long after retirement. WUNC education reporter Dave Dewitt joins host Frank Stasio to talk about the legacy of William Friday.</p><p></p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 15:30:00 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 3703 at http://wunc.org William Friday Friday Improving http://wunc.org/post/friday-improving <p>Bill Friday's condition is improving. But the former UNC system president still remains in critical condition at UNC Hospitals.<br> Fri, 18 May 2012 18:10:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2502 at http://wunc.org Friday Improving