ACC http://wunc.org en Lady Heels Fight Hard But Fall Short In NCAA Women's Tournament http://wunc.org/post/lady-heels-fight-hard-fall-short-ncaa-womens-tournament <p>North Carolina's run in the NCAA Women's Tournament is over.&nbsp;&nbsp; The fourth-seeded Lady Tar Heels fell to second-seed Stanford 74-65 in the West Regional final.&nbsp; UNC wound up just one game short of reaching the Women's Final Four for the fourth time.<br /><br />UNC was led by freshman guard Allisha Gray with 19 points and nine rebounds.&nbsp;&nbsp; ACC Rookie of the Year Diamond DeShields added 13 points for North Carolina which finished its season 27-10<br /> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 03:47:46 +0000 Gurnal Scott 33088 at http://wunc.org Lady Heels Fight Hard But Fall Short In NCAA Women's Tournament ACC-Maryland Exit Dispute Heads To Court http://wunc.org/post/acc-maryland-exit-dispute-heads-court <p></p><p>The North Carolina Court of Appeals will begin hearing arguments Thursday over a dispute between the Atlantic Coast Conference and the University of Maryland. The school has been a member of the conference since its inception 60 years ago, but announced last fall it plans to depart to the Big Ten Conference. However, prior to that decision, a majority of Presidents from ACC member schools voted to increase the exit fee for departing schools. The amount jumped from about $20 million jumped to $52 million.</p><p></p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:35:32 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 23109 at http://wunc.org ACC-Maryland Exit Dispute Heads To Court Raleigh Hosts Nationally Televised Clash Between NC State And Clemson http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-hosts-nationally-televised-clash-between-nc-state-and-clemson <p>The NC State Wolfpack will take the field tonight for their biggest game of the season to date. The Clemson Tigers are third-ranked in the national polls and an early contender for the national championship.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 12:58:09 +0000 Gurnal Scott 22749 at http://wunc.org Raleigh Hosts Nationally Televised Clash Between NC State And Clemson Duke Men's Lacrosse Team Seizes 2nd National Title http://wunc.org/post/duke-mens-lacrosse-team-seizes-2nd-national-title <p>The <a href="http://www.goduke.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=25937&amp;SPID=2027&amp;DB_LANG=C&amp;ATCLID=207945060&amp;DB_OEM_ID=4200">Duke men's lacrosse team overcame an early deficit to beat Syracuse 16-10</a> for its second national title.&nbsp; The Blue Devils began Monday's game by missing their first 11 shots on goal.&nbsp; That allowed the Orange to race out to a 5-nothing lead into the second quarter.&nbsp;</p><p>Duke head coach John Danowski said he felt the pressure of the game was a factor.</p> Tue, 28 May 2013 14:24:08 +0000 Gurnal Scott 16120 at http://wunc.org Duke Men's Lacrosse Team Seizes 2nd National Title The Harlem Shake, ACC Style http://wunc.org/post/harlem-shake-acc-style <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Everyone knows that NC State, Duke, and </span>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> can play basketball. But how well do they dance?</span></p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 20:19:46 +0000 Laura Candler 12004 at http://wunc.org Notre Dame To Join ACC http://wunc.org/post/notre-dame-join-acc <p></p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 08:35:19 +0000 Dave DeWitt 806 at http://wunc.org Notre Dame To Join ACC March Madness for College Start-Ups http://wunc.org/post/march-madness-college-start-ups <p>It’s March Madness for college basketball fans.&nbsp; But teams of student entrepreneurs gathered in Durham this week for Start-up Madness.<br><br><strong>Niki Kohari:</strong>&nbsp; Can you guys feel the March Madness in the air!<br> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 06:50:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 3034 at http://wunc.org March Madness for College Start-Ups Duke & UNC to Square Off for ACC Title http://wunc.org/post/duke-unc-square-acc-title <p>The men's Atlantic Coast Conference regular season champion will be decided tomorrow. That's when North Carolina will travel up Tobacco Road to take on rival Duke. The two teams are tied for first place going into the final regular season game. Speaking on an ACC teleconference this week, Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski said it's been a challenge to get to this point.<br> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 14:45:00 +0000 Eric Hodge & Isaac-Davy Aronson 3164 at http://wunc.org ACC Women's Tournment Begins Thursday http://wunc.org/post/acc-womens-tournment-begins-thursday <p>The ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament tips off tomorrow in Greensboro.<br><br><strong>Jeff Tiberii:</strong> For the 13th consecutive year the event takes place at the Greensboro Coliseum. This season the conference boasts 3 of the top 10 Women’s teams in the nation: Duke, Miami and Maryland. Meanwhile, UNC-Chapel Hill finished fifth in the A-C-C during the regular season. Head coach Sylvia Hatchell has led her team to eight of the last 10 Tournament Championship games.<br> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 00:25:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 3176 at http://wunc.org Greensboro Aquatic Center Drawing Big Events http://wunc.org/post/greensboro-aquatic-center-drawing-big-events <p></p><p></p><p>This weekend the Greensboro Aquatic Center hosts the first prominent event in its brief history. The facility is serving hundreds of local people each day while trying to also gain attention on the national swimming stage. Thu, 10 Nov 2011 10:00:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 7249 at http://wunc.org Greensboro Aquatic Center Drawing Big Events