UNC Hospitals http://wunc.org en Nash Health Joins UNC’s Hospital System http://wunc.org/post/nash-health-joins-unc-s-hospital-system <p></p><p>Nash Health Care in Rocky Mount is the newest hospital to join the UNC Health System. Their affiliation agreement allows UNC to manage operations at Nash.</p><p></p><p>Nash Health CEO Larry Chewning will now be on UNC Health's payroll, but Nash will continue to be governed by its independent board of directors.</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 12:44:47 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 33106 at http://wunc.org Nash Health Joins UNC’s Hospital System UNC Hospital Stay Could Be Four-Diamond Experience http://wunc.org/post/unc-hospital-stay-could-be-four-diamond-experience <p>Patients at UNC Hospitals will soon be able to dine bedside on four-diamond fare from Il Palio at the Siena Hotel. UNC's Nutrition and Food Services Director Angelo Mojica is teaming up with Adam Rose, executive chef at Il Palio, to feature some of the restaurant's gourmet cuisine. UNC's Mojica says this kind of thing has never been done before in health care. He's in the process of reaching out to other high-end eateries in the Triangle and says it's a win-win for participating restaurants and&nbsp;UNC Hospitals.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 11:04:22 +0000 Catherine Brand 12631 at http://wunc.org UNC Hospital Stay Could Be Four-Diamond Experience A Stay At UNC Hospitals Could Be Four-Diamond Experience http://wunc.org/post/stay-unc-hospitals-could-be-four-diamond-experience <p>Patients at UNC hospitals will soon be able to dine bedside on 4-diamond fare from Il Palio at the Siena Hotel. UNC's Nutrition and Food Services Director Angelo Mojica is teaming up with the executive chef from Il Palio - Adam Rose - to feature some of the restaurant's fine cuisine.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 14:02:26 +0000 Catherine Brand 11749 at http://wunc.org WakeMed And UNC Hospitals Call A Truce http://wunc.org/post/wakemed-and-unc-hospitals-call-truce <p>WakeMed Hospital has withdrawn its takeover bid of UNC-owned Rex Healthcare. The cross-town rivals are putting an end to their public battle that escalated when WakeMed issued an unsuccessful bid to buy Rex last year for 750 million dollars. The announcement comes after state lawmakers helped broker an agreement between the two institutions' officials. Bill Atkinson is the CEO of WakeMed.<br> Tue, 22 May 2012 21:25:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 2453 at http://wunc.org Cancer Decisions Need Support http://wunc.org/post/cancer-decisions-need-support <p>A new study finds that breast cancer survivors had limited knowledge about their surgical options, including decisions that can help prevent recurrence of the disease. The findings are reported in this month's issue of the Journal of the American College of Surgeons.<br><br>Dr. Clara Lee, a surgeon at UNC Hospitals, is a co-author of the study. She says the quality of decisions patients make is directly related to how well health providers inform patients about their choices.<br> Tue, 17 Jan 2012 14:04:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 3447 at http://wunc.org UNC Hospitals & Aetna in Rate Dispute http://wunc.org/post/unc-hospitals-aetna-rate-dispute <p></p><p></p><p>People around the Triangle with Aetna health insurance are hearing that UNC Hospitals may no longer be an in-network insurer for them.<br><br>The letters went out last week from both Aetna and UNC Hospitals, saying that come February fifth, UNC will no longer accept Aetna insurance. Mon, 17 Jan 2011 11:35:00 +0000 Rose Hoban 10276 at http://wunc.org UNC Hospitals & Aetna in Rate Dispute