Campaign Finance http://wunc.org en New Year Brings New Campaign Finance Rules http://wunc.org/post/new-year-brings-new-campaign-finance-rules <p>Changes detailed in <a href="http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2013/Bills/House/PDF/H589v8.pdf">the state's new voting law</a> now allow bigger donations for candidates.&nbsp;</p><p>Political office seekers were able to start padding their campaign war chests once the calendar changed to 2014.&nbsp; Candidates for any office can now accept up to $5,000 from a single contributor.&nbsp; Before the new year, the contribution limit for most donors was $4,000.&nbsp; Judicial candidates could only accept $1,000 per supporter.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 14:21:05 +0000 Gurnal Scott 28291 at http://wunc.org New Year Brings New Campaign Finance Rules How Does Money Affect An Election? http://wunc.org/post/how-does-money-affect-election <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The previous State Elections Board's term expired just as they were beginning to investigate $235,000 of allegedly illegal political donations.&nbsp; The donations implicate </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and legislators from both parties.&nbsp; Governor </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> made the unusual decision of replacing all of the board members.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 03 May 2013 16:22:16 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 14754 at http://wunc.org How Does Money Affect An Election? Attack Ad In State Supreme Court Race http://wunc.org/post/attack-ad-state-supreme-court-race <p><strong>Catherine Brand:</strong> Supporters of state Supreme Court Justice Paul Newby have released an attack ad criticizing his opponent, Judge Sam Ervin. Jessica Jones reports it's the first attack ad of the campaign.<br><br><strong>Jessica Jones: </strong>The Republican-leaning Superpac Justice for All N.C. is sponsoring the ad, which began airing today.<br><br><strong>Ad:</strong> Can we trust Sam Ervin the fourth to be a fair judge?<br> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 21:30:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 4143 at http://wunc.org Big Spending In Supreme Court Race http://wunc.org/post/big-spending-supreme-court-race <p>Less than a decade ago, North Carolina instituted a public financing program for appellate judicial elections that was hailed as a nationwide model. But it’s being tested this year by the state Supreme Court race between incumbent Justice Paul Newby, and his challenger, Court of Appeals Judge Sam Ervin.<br><br>Supporters of incumbent Justice Paul Newby hope this 30-second television ad will help people remember Newby’s name when they vote.<br><br><strong>Ad:"</strong> Paul Newby, he’s a tough old judge respected everywhere. Paul Newby- justice tough but fair."<br> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 10:40:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 4145 at http://wunc.org McCrory Continues To Lead Dalton In Fundraising http://wunc.org/post/mccrory-continues-lead-dalton-fundraising <p>Republican Gubernatorial candidate Pat McCrory continues to lead Democrat Walter Dalton in the polls and campaign fundraising.<br> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 12:20:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 4157 at http://wunc.org Money Floods Local And State Races http://wunc.org/post/money-floods-local-and-state-races <p>Election day is just a few weeks away, and candidates running for office are in the final stretch to get their supporters to the polls. Presidential and congressional candidates are spending a lot of money in these final weeks, much of it from outside interest groups seeking to get their favorites elected. And that’s happening at the state and local levels too.<br><br><strong>Jessica Jones: </strong>With campaign season in full swing, it’s almost impossible to miss the political ads that are flooding the airwaves.<br> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 13:30:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 2409 at http://wunc.org Prosecution Prepares To Rest In Edwards Trial http://wunc.org/post/prosecution-prepares-rest-edwards-trial <p>In the John Edwards trial, the government has indicated it could rest its case this afternoon.<br>&nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 May 2012 10:45:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 2540 at http://wunc.org Monday Marks Day 11 In Edwards Trial http://wunc.org/post/monday-marks-day-11-edwards-trial <p>Week three of the John Edwards Trial begins with a lawyer in the witness box.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 12:40:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 2603 at http://wunc.org Donor's Cousin Testifies In Edwards Trial http://wunc.org/post/donors-cousin-testifies-edwards-trial <p>It's day 10 of testimony at the John Edwards trial and a friend of billionaire Bunny Mellon is back on the stand.<br> Fri, 04 May 2012 13:05:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 2610 at http://wunc.org Cheri Young Testifies In Edwards Trial http://wunc.org/post/cheri-young-testifies-edwards-trial <p>The wife a former campaign staffer is back on the witness stand at the John Edwards federal corruption trial in Greensboro today.</p> Wed, 02 May 2012 10:25:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 2626 at http://wunc.org