Gambling http://wunc.org en Are Internet Sweepstakes Gambling? Wake County Says Yes http://wunc.org/post/are-internet-sweepstakes-gambling-wake-county-says-yes <p></p><p>Gambling is illegal in North Carolina. But there is a gray area: It's called an "Internet sweepstakes." And contrary to it's name, such sweepstakes are often not on the Internet. They are operated in small shops, often in strip malls, across the state.</p> Sun, 09 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Phoebe Judge & Carol Jackson 30153 at http://wunc.org Are Internet Sweepstakes Gambling? Wake County Says Yes Gaming Bill Tentatively Passes House http://wunc.org/post/gaming-bill-tentatively-passes-house <p>A bill that would introduce Las Vegas-style live gambling to the Eastern Cherokee reservation has tentatively passed the House. Governor Bev Perdue struck a deal with leaders of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, but lawmakers must change state law in order for the arrangement to move forward. Republican Thomas West is a sponsor of the bill.<br> Thu, 31 May 2012 21:50:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 2396 at http://wunc.org Sweepstakes Parlors Get Reprieve http://wunc.org/post/sweepstakes-parlors-get-reprieve <p></p><p>The doors will stay open at some video sweepstakes parlors, despite a new state law that took effect this week.</p><p>The new ban covers gambling-style games, like keno and slots, as well as any <span style="font-style: italic;">other </span>game that uses a - quote - "entertaining display" to reveal sweepstakes results. A Guilford County judge ruled that last part of the new law is unconstitutionally broad, while a Wake County judge ruled it <span style="font-style: italic;">is</span> constitutional. Fri, 03 Dec 2010 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Leslie 11449 at http://wunc.org Sweepstakes Parlors Get Reprieve Gambling Goes On As Police Weigh Ban http://wunc.org/post/gambling-goes-police-weigh-ban <p></p><p></p><p>A new state law that took effect today makes video sweepstakes gambling illegal. But many parlors are still open and operating around the state. One sweepstakes parlor a block away from the Garner Police Station had six gambling customers at 10:30 this morning. Wed, 01 Dec 2010 21:10:00 +0000 Laura Leslie 11487 at http://wunc.org Gambling Goes On As Police Weigh Ban New State Laws Take Effect http://wunc.org/post/new-state-laws-take-effect <p></p><p>New state laws take effect today on issues ranging from video gambling and Medicaid fraud to animal abuse. Wed, 01 Dec 2010 09:50:00 +0000 Laura Leslie 11489 at http://wunc.org New State Laws Take Effect Last Day For Video Sweepstakes http://wunc.org/post/last-day-video-sweepstakes <p></p><p>Today is the last day that video sweepstakes parlors will be legally allowed to operate in North Carolina.&nbsp; But a judge’s ruling could open the door to other games. Tue, 30 Nov 2010 10:10:00 +0000 Laura Leslie 11492 at http://wunc.org Last Day For Video Sweepstakes