Pre-K http://wunc.org en Bilingual Children Make Critical Gains In Early Education Programs http://wunc.org/post/bilingual-children-make-critical-gains-early-education-programs <div><p></p><p>A review by&nbsp;UNC-Chapel Hill researchers confirms that children who speak two languages make greater gains in early education programs than their peers who speak only English.</p> Thu, 28 Nov 2013 11:15:48 +0000 Reema Khrais 26518 at http://wunc.org Bilingual Children Make Critical Gains In Early Education Programs Supreme Court To Decide Pre-K Funding http://wunc.org/post/supreme-court-decide-pre-k-funding <p></p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 21:16:46 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 24114 at http://wunc.org Supreme Court To Decide Pre-K Funding Pre-K Hangs In Balance As Budget Negotiations Start http://wunc.org/post/pre-k-hangs-balance-budget-negotiations-start <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Republican leaders in the legislature are getting ready to hash out their own versions of the state budget. And the House, Senate and Governor’s version are quite different when it comes to pre-K.</span></p><p>North Carolina has long been praised for its commitment to high-quality pre-kindergarten programs. But all three of the current budgets make cuts to those programs, to varying degrees.</p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 19:29:35 +0000 Dave DeWitt 17556 at http://wunc.org Pre-K Hangs In Balance As Budget Negotiations Start Governor Perdue Increases Funding for Pre-K http://wunc.org/post/governor-perdue-increases-funding-pre-k <p>Governor Bev Perdue plans to shift 20 million dollars into funding for the state's pre-kindergarten academic enrichment program.<br> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 3019 at http://wunc.org Lawmakers Change Course On Pre-K http://wunc.org/post/lawmakers-change-course-pre-k <p>The State Legislature has reversed course on how many low-income four-year olds are eligible for pre-kindergarten programs.<br><br><strong>Dave DeWitt: </strong>As part of its effort to cut costs and streamline pre-k programs in the state, the Legislature last year appeared to cap the number of low-income kids at 20 percent. Proponents of Pre-K programs brought the case before Judge Howard Manning, who ruled that the law was unconstitutional. He ordered the state to admit all eligible at-risk four-year olds.<br> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 19:47:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2363 at http://wunc.org Perdue Boosts Pre-K http://wunc.org/post/perdue-boosts-pre-k <p>Two thousand more at-risk kids will be able to attend pre-kindergarten classes, starting in March. Governor Bev Perdue made the announcement today at a pre-school in Raleigh. Dave DeWitt reports.<br><br><strong>Dave DeWitt: </strong>The state funds about one-third of the at-risk kids who qualify for pre-kindergarten. Last year, Superior Court Judge Howard Manning said that was illegal, and directed the legislature to fund all eligible children.<br> Wed, 22 Feb 2012 20:10:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3204 at http://wunc.org Perdue Boosts Pre-K Perdue Pushes Pre-K http://wunc.org/post/perdue-pushes-pre-k <p>The state legislature may be out of session until September, but that hasn’t stopped Governor Bev Perdue from firing the latest shot in the fight over pre-k programs.</p><p>On Wednesday, Perdue issued an executive order that directs the Department of Health and Human Services to offer pre-K education to all eligible 4-year olds in the state.</p><p>She says that will put North Carolina in compliance with a ruling last month by superior court judge Howard Manning. Last year, about 32,000 4-year olds were enrolled in More At Four. About double that many qualified.</p> Thu, 11 Aug 2011 09:15:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 8244 at http://wunc.org Pre-K Funding Flap http://wunc.org/post/pre-k-funding-flap <p>Yesterday Superior Court Judge Howard Manning declared portions of the state budget that deal with preschool education unconstitutional. Manning says the Republican-authored budget provisions limit eligible at-risk children from enrolling in a state funded prekindergarten program.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 19 Jul 2011 16:09:00 +0000 Frank Stasio & Katy Barron 8155 at http://wunc.org