Same-Sex http://wunc.org en Punk http://wunc.org/post/punk <p>The emergence of punk music marked an anarchic change in the sound of rock during the 1980s, and Billy Ingram was there to document its rise.</p><p>He was a writer for a gay publication covering the Los Angeles music scene, and he had a front-row seat to a revolution in rock. At the same time, Ingram was coming into his own as a gay man covering punk culture, which he found less-than-friendly toward homosexuals. Ingram joins host Frank Stasio to talk about his experiences as documented in new book, "Punk" (TVParty/2012).</p><p></p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 14:45:00 +0000 Frank Stasio & Alex Granados 4075 at http://wunc.org Punk ACLU Sues State Over Adoption Restrictions http://wunc.org/post/aclu-sues-state-over-adoption-restrictions <p>The American Civil Liberties Union has filed a federal lawsuit in Greensboro seeking expanded adoption rights for same-sex couples.<br> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 21:40:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 2321 at http://wunc.org ACLU Sues State Over Adoption Restrictions Love Free or Die http://wunc.org/post/love-free-or-die <p><a href="http://mackyalston.com/" target="_blank">Macky Alston's</a> new documentary film, "<a href="http://www.lovefreeordiemovie.com/" target="_blank">Love Free or Die</a>," follows Bishop Gene Robinson, the first openly gay bishop in the Episcopal Church. Though the movie is about Robinson’s struggle to be accepted within the church, it’s inspired by the filmmakers’ experience as a gay man who was brought up in a religious family in North Carolina. Wed, 09 May 2012 14:49:00 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 4818 at http://wunc.org Love Free or Die Amendment Banning Same-Sex Marriage Passes http://wunc.org/post/amendment-banning-same-sex-marriage-passes <p>North Carolina is now the thirty-first state to add an amendment banning same-sex marriage to its constitution.<br><br><strong>Jessica Jones: </strong>Backers of North Carolina's amendment to ban same-sex marriage and civil unions celebrated last night at the North Raleigh Hilton. Kim Creech made a seven-layer white wedding cake that she helped distribute to other supporters.<br><br><strong>Kim Creech:</strong> was praying that it would happen. And I was glad that it wasn't any more drawn out than it was.<br> Wed, 09 May 2012 12:30:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 2593 at http://wunc.org Amendment Opponents Say It Threatens Domestic Violence Protections http://wunc.org/post/amendment-opponents-say-it-threatens-domestic-violence-protections <p>Opponents of a proposed amendment to the state constitution banning same-sex marriage and civil unions say the measure is written too broadly. Among the effects they claim it could have is the invalidation of domestic violence protections for unmarried couples. Amendment supporters call that a scare tactic.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 10:10:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 2738 at http://wunc.org Gay Presbyterian Minister in Chapel Hill http://wunc.org/post/gay-presbyterian-minister-chapel-hill <p>One of the first openly gay ministers in the Presbyterian church will soon be ordained at a Chapel Hill church. Katie Ricks is the first openly lesbian pastor in the nation to gain approval since the Presbyterian Church began allowing homosexuals to serve last year. She met with the church's local governing body before its vote last weekend. She says she addressed some members' concerns that same-sex relationships are not accepted by God.<br> Wed, 22 Feb 2012 16:10:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 3205 at http://wunc.org Gay Presbyterian Minister in Chapel Hill NC Same-Sex Couples More than Double Since 2000 http://wunc.org/post/nc-same-sex-couples-more-double-2000 <p><span style="font-weight: bold;">&nbsp;</span>New census data shows the number of same-sex couples in North Carolina has more than doubled in the past 10 years.<br> Wed, 28 Sep 2011 12:45:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7415 at http://wunc.org 16th Annual NC Gay & Lesbian Film Festival http://wunc.org/post/16th-annual-nc-gay-lesbian-film-festival <p></p><p>Feature films, documentaries and short films that examine and celebrate gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender culture are coming to the Carolina Theatre in downtown Durham for the 16th year of the <a href="http://www.carolinatheatre.org/ncglff" target="_blank">North Carolina Gay and Lesbian Film Festival</a>. Wed, 10 Aug 2011 16:46:00 +0000 Frank Stasio 8106 at http://wunc.org 16th Annual NC Gay & Lesbian Film Festival