Voting http://wunc.org en It's Primary Day, Who Will You Choose? http://wunc.org/post/its-primary-day-who-will-you-choose <p></p><p>North Carolina voters are choosing their candidates for a competitive U.S. Senate seat, the state Supreme Court and dozens of other state and federal offices.&nbsp; Local election workers planned to open more than 2,700 precinct locations today.</p><p>Eight Republicans are seeking their party's nomination to challenge Democratic Sen. Kay Hagan. She has her own primary against two lesser-known opponents.</p><p>Supreme Court Associate Justice Robin Hudson has two challengers for her seat. The top two vote-getters advance to the November election.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 13:58:39 +0000 Carol Jackson 35029 at http://wunc.org It's Primary Day, Who Will You Choose? Early Voting Starts Today http://wunc.org/post/early-voting-starts-today <p></p><p>Early voting begins today for the May primary election.<br /><br />Today is the first day North Carolinians can cast their votes in this year's primary election. 289 sites across the state will be open for residents to come to the polls. That's 77 more locations than in 2010.</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 34331 at http://wunc.org Early Voting Starts Today New Year Brings New Campaign Finance Rules http://wunc.org/post/new-year-brings-new-campaign-finance-rules <p>Changes detailed in <a href="http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2013/Bills/House/PDF/H589v8.pdf">the state's new voting law</a> now allow bigger donations for candidates.&nbsp;</p><p>Political office seekers were able to start padding their campaign war chests once the calendar changed to 2014.&nbsp; Candidates for any office can now accept up to $5,000 from a single contributor.&nbsp; Before the new year, the contribution limit for most donors was $4,000.&nbsp; Judicial candidates could only accept $1,000 per supporter.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 14:21:05 +0000 Gurnal Scott 28291 at http://wunc.org New Year Brings New Campaign Finance Rules Challenges To NC’s Voter ID Law Will Be Heard After 2014 Elections http://wunc.org/post/challenges-nc-s-voter-id-law-will-be-heard-after-2014-elections <p>A federal judge has ruled that challenges to the North Carolina law that requires voters to show identification at polling stations will not be heard until after the mid-term elections of 2014.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Jorge Valencia 27317 at http://wunc.org Challenges To NC’s Voter ID Law Will Be Heard After 2014 Elections Parties In NC Voter ID Lawsuit Can’t Agree Even On A Trial Date http://wunc.org/post/parties-nc-voter-id-lawsuit-can-t-agree-even-trial-date <p>Attorneys on both sides of four lawsuits challenging voting rules signed into law by North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory this year are scheduled to meet in U.S. District Court on Thursday morning to argue over an opening date for the trial.<br /><br />The two sides disagree on whether a trial should be heard before the 2014 mid-term elections. The plaintiffs, which include the North Carolina NAACP and the League of Women Voters, are asking the court to schedule for trial in August 2014. The attorneys representing the state are asking for a begin date no earlier than January 2015.<br /> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 23:38:36 +0000 Jorge Valencia 27245 at http://wunc.org NC Budget Chief Debates With Top Critic http://wunc.org/post/nc-budget-chief-debates-top-critic <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Rev. William Barber, who led weekly protests this year against laws passed by North Carolina’s Republican-controlled legislature, gathered with a few of his supporters Monday outside the state budget office to criticize a man they say supports policies that hurt poor people.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 12:28:42 +0000 Jorge Valencia 26725 at http://wunc.org NC Budget Chief Debates With Top Critic Local Elections To Be Decided Today http://wunc.org/post/local-elections-be-decided-today <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Municipal elections take place Tuesday across the state. Just a fraction of registered voters are expected to help decide mayoral races, city council candidacies and one significant school bond measure.</span></p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 25245 at http://wunc.org Local Elections To Be Decided Today Government Shutdown and North Carolina Voting Laws Challenged http://wunc.org/post/government-shutdown-and-north-carolina-voting-laws-challenged <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="font-size:11pt">Congress failed to <a href="http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/10/01/20758472-federal-government-shuts-down-after-congress-fails-to-pass-funding">pass a spending bill to avert a government shutdown last night</a>. </span></p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 16:39:26 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 23429 at http://wunc.org Government Shutdown and North Carolina Voting Laws Challenged More Voting Changes In Watauga County http://wunc.org/post/more-voting-changes-watauga-county <p>The Watauga County Board of Elections has restored several polling sites in Boone. That comes a day after the State Director of Elections indicated she would not approve a plan to combine the three sites into one location.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 18:33:38 +0000 Dave DeWitt 22075 at http://wunc.org More Voting Changes In Watauga County No More Pre-Registration Puts Youth Vote In Question http://wunc.org/post/no-more-pre-registration-puts-youth-vote-question <p>As the legislative wheels turn, the Voter Identification Verification Act was introduced, debated, and passed at light speed. It was late July - the last week of the General Assembly’s session - when Republican leaders introduced the sweeping voting changes.</p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 08:29:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 22009 at http://wunc.org No More Pre-Registration Puts Youth Vote In Question