Government Shutdown http://wunc.org en NC National Guard Tries To Make Up For Lost Drills During Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/nc-national-guard-tries-make-lost-drills-during-shutdown <p></p><p>More than a hundred North Carolina Air and Army National Guard units are trying to reschedule training time they missed during the government shutdown.&nbsp;</p><p>That amounts to about 6,400 troops who could not conduct three weekend drills earlier this month.&nbsp; Maj. Matthew Devivo says a short lapse in funding was enough to make conducting drills impossible.<br /><br />"That's operational funds.&nbsp; That's maintenance funds.&nbsp; We couldn't move equipment to do training and we couldn't feed the soldiers who would come to drill," Devivo says.</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 11:07:42 +0000 Will Michaels 25016 at http://wunc.org NC National Guard Tries To Make Up For Lost Drills During Shutdown NC Republican Congressional Delegation Splits On Strategy http://wunc.org/post/nc-republican-congressional-delegation-splits-strategy <p>North Carolina’s congressional delegation has been in the spotlight in recent weeks as Democrats and Republicans in Washington have argued over shutting down the government, the Affordable Care Act, and raising the debt ceiling.&nbsp;</p><p>The idea for the shutdown came from Republican Representative Mark Meadows of the Eleventh District, whose aim was to try to dismantle Obamacare. But not all the Republican members of the North Carolina delegation agreed with the tactic.</p> Sat, 19 Oct 2013 11:57:18 +0000 Jessica Jones 24387 at http://wunc.org NC Republican Congressional Delegation Splits On Strategy Congressmen Reflect On Vote To End Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/congressmen-reflect-vote-end-shutdown <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span dir="ltr" style="font-size: 10pt"><font face="Arial,sans-serif">&nbsp;&nbsp;</font></span></p><p><span dir="ltr" style="font-size: 10pt"><font face="Arial,sans-serif">Wednesday night, the House of Representatives overwhelmingly voted to end the government shutdown and raise the debt ceiling. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:32:36 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 24352 at http://wunc.org Congressmen Reflect On Vote To End Shutdown North Carolina Is First State To Cut WIC And TANF During Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/north-carolina-first-state-cut-wic-and-tanf-during-shutdown <p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:57:03 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 24285 at http://wunc.org North Carolina Is First State To Cut WIC And TANF During Shutdown Debt Ceiling Raised And Shutdown Ends http://wunc.org/post/debt-ceiling-raised-and-shutdown-ends <p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size: 10pt"><font face="Arial" size="2"><span style="font-size: 11pt">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></font></span></font></p><p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size: 10pt"><font face="Arial" size="2"><span style="font-size: 11pt">.</span></font></span></font></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:53:22 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 24284 at http://wunc.org Debt Ceiling Raised And Shutdown Ends Job Supporters For The Disabled Cut During Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/job-supporters-disabled-cut-during-shutdown <p></p><p>Many organizations that help the disabled get jobs in North Carolina are not working during the government shutdown.&nbsp;</p><p>The <a href="http://www.ncdhhs.gov/">state Department of Health and Human Services</a> sent a letter to 140 groups last week, telling them there&#39;s no federal money to pay their contracts.</p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 21:23:36 +0000 Will Michaels 24165 at http://wunc.org Job Supporters For The Disabled Cut During Shutdown N.C. Mortgages On Hold During Govt. Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/nc-mortgages-hold-during-govt-shutdown <p></p><p>North Carolina banks say the ongoing government shutdown means many mortgage applications are idle.</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:34:16 +0000 Will Michaels 24097 at http://wunc.org N.C. Mortgages On Hold During Govt. Shutdown Furloughed Civilian Employees Back At NC Military Bases http://wunc.org/post/furloughed-civilian-employees-back-nc-military-bases <p></p><p>Civilian employees at North Carolina&#39;s military bases are back at work after four furlough days from the government shutdown.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 17:14:04 +0000 Will Michaels 23739 at http://wunc.org Furloughed Civilian Employees Back At NC Military Bases Roundtable Considers Philosophical Implications Of Government Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/roundtable-considers-philosophical-implications-government-shutdown <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 16:18:27 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 23615 at http://wunc.org Roundtable Considers Philosophical Implications Of Government Shutdown Govt. Contractors Feel The Sting Of The Shutdown http://wunc.org/post/govt-contractors-feel-sting-shutdown <p></p><p>Employees who work for government contractors are among those who are not working during the shutdown.&nbsp;</p><p>Federal agencies contract out duties from on-site cafeterias to janitorial services.&nbsp; Tony Marshall is president and CEO of a company in Raleigh called Innovative Systems Group, which had an $852,437 contract with the Environmental Protection Agency to run a green shuttle service at its campus in Durham.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 11:13:52 +0000 Will Michaels 23540 at http://wunc.org Govt. Contractors Feel The Sting Of The Shutdown