Smithfield Foods http://wunc.org en The Smithfield, Shuanghui Pork Deal Is Done http://wunc.org/post/smithfield-shuanghui-pork-deal-done <p></p><p><a href="http://www.smithfieldfoods.com/">Pork processor Smithfield Foods</a> has officially been sold.&nbsp; It is reportedly the largest purchase ever of a US company by a Chinese company.</p><p>Today 96% of Smithfield Foods shareholders voted to sell the pork processor to <a href="http://www.shuanghui-international.com/">Shuanghui International Holdings Ltd. of Hong Kong</a>.&nbsp; The deal is worth $7.1 billion.</p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 23039 at http://wunc.org The Smithfield, Shuanghui Pork Deal Is Done N.C. Hog Farm Neighbors File Nuisance Complaints http://wunc.org/post/nc-hog-farm-neighbors-file-nuisance-complaints <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hundreds of people in eastern North Carolina have filed nuisance complaints against Smithfield Foods about the way hog farmers dispose of their waste.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Will Michaels 18544 at http://wunc.org N.C. Hog Farm Neighbors File Nuisance Complaints What Is The Future Of A Chinese-Owned Smithfield Foods? http://wunc.org/post/what-future-chinese-owned-smithfield-foods <p>Smithfield Foods is set to be sold to Chinese firm in a $7.1 billion deal. The Shuanghui Group is the largest meat processor in China, and they have agreed to purchase Smithfield Foods to satisfy a large demand for American-made pork in China. If the deal goes through, it would be the largest ever <a href="http://www.newsobserver.com/2013/06/01/2931568/home-of-famous-va-hams-ponders.html#">Chinese acquisition of an American company. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 16:19:49 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 16555 at http://wunc.org What Is The Future Of A Chinese-Owned Smithfield Foods? Smithfield Foods Goes 'Hog Wild' Over Shuanghui Merger http://wunc.org/post/smithfield-foods-goes-hog-wild-over-shuanghui-merger <p></p><p>The multi-billion dollar merger announcement between Smithfield Foods and China-based Shuanghui International caught many people by surprise.&nbsp; Smithfield owns the <a href="http://youtu.be/1s8Vt-Q8N80">largest hog processing plant in the world, in Tar Heel</a>.&nbsp; And thousands of hog farmers and factory workers in North Carolina are employed by the company.</p><p>If the deal clears regulatory hurdles, it could be the biggest takeover of a US company by a Chinese company. Wed, 29 May 2013 20:14:56 +0000 Leoneda Inge 16226 at http://wunc.org Smithfield Foods Goes 'Hog Wild' Over Shuanghui Merger Smithfield Settlement http://wunc.org/post/smithfield-settlement <p>Smithfield Foods and the United Food and Commercial Workers settled a federal racketeering lawsuit this week. Now the nearly five thousand workers at the plant in Tar Heel will have another chance to vote on union representation. Fri, 31 Oct 2008 14:25:00 +0000 Frank Stasio & Susan Davis 16278 at http://wunc.org Union Fight Headed To Court http://wunc.org/post/union-fight-headed-court <p>The fight between Smithfield and the United Food and Commercial Workers over unionizing the Tar Heel hog processing plant has entered a new phase. A federal judge in Virginia has allowed a lawsuit filed by Smithfield to go forward.</p><p>The suit accuses the UFCW of a coordinated public smear campaign.&nbsp; It uses the RICO statutes that were created to fight organized crime. The lawsuit is the latest step in a confrontation that has slowly been moving out of the plant itself and into the kitchens and living rooms of consumers. Wed, 06 Feb 2008 13:24:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 16277 at http://wunc.org Smithfield Workers Protest http://wunc.org/post/smithfield-workers-protest <p>Many workers at the Smithfield hog processing plant in Tar Heel North Carolina continue to speak-out about what they call "bad" work conditions. But yesterday instead of just speaking-out – hundreds of workers walked out.</p> Fri, 17 Nov 2006 13:54:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 16276 at http://wunc.org