Football http://wunc.org en Man Versus Science http://wunc.org/post/man-versus-science <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">Can an NFL running back muster the same force as a running bull? Does a nine-foot python squeeze harder than a martial arts star?</span></p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 16:04:17 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 35551 at http://wunc.org Man Versus Science UNC Puts Spotlight on Concussions In Football http://wunc.org/post/unc-puts-spotlight-concussions-football <p>Doctors are increasingly concerned by the risk of concussions in football and other sports. &nbsp;</p><p>The <a href="http://www.nfl.com/players">National Football League Players Association</a> is <a href="http://www.unc.edu/campus-updates/nflpa-former-players-health/">partnering </a>with the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Brain and Body Health Program and other universities to help better treat and evaluate former players for injury, particularly to the brain.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 16:41:24 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 27616 at http://wunc.org UNC Puts Spotlight on Concussions In Football Boeing Considers Bringing Jobs To Greensboro http://wunc.org/post/boeing-considers-bringing-jobs-greensboro <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>This segment live from the Triad Stage in Greensboro.</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 21:27:50 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 27581 at http://wunc.org Boeing Considers Bringing Jobs To Greensboro A Year In The Life Of The New York Jets http://wunc.org/post/year-life-new-york-jets <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>To outsiders, football may look like bone-crushing mayhem.&nbsp; The headlines coming out of the NFL center around concussions and bullying.</p><p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 17:21:43 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 26179 at http://wunc.org A Year In The Life Of The New York Jets Bigger, Faster, Stronger, Fatter? http://wunc.org/post/bigger-faster-stronger-fatter <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-size: 12pt;">Obesity is a significant problem for many in the United States. But for some high school football </span><span style="font-size:12pt">players, <a href="http://www.newsobserver.com/2013/10/12/3272451/how-300-pounds-became-high-school.html">weight gain means success</a>.</span></p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 16:04:40 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 24600 at http://wunc.org Bigger, Faster, Stronger, Fatter? NC Sports Hall Of Fame Adds 11 New Faces, Two New Sports http://wunc.org/post/nc-sports-hall-fame-adds-11-new-faces-two-new-sports <p></p><p>Eleven new members are set to join the North <a href="http://www.ncshof.org/">Carolina Sports Hall of Fame</a>.&nbsp; Thursday night's induction ceremony and banquet marks the museum's 50th anniversary.&nbsp;</p><p>Hall of Fame executive director Don Fish says the class of 2013 includes hockey legend Ron Francis, who retired a year before the Carolina Hurricanes won their first and only championship.<br><br>"It changed the face of sports in North Carolina," Fish says.</p> Thu, 02 May 2013 10:26:00 +0000 Will Michaels 14618 at http://wunc.org NC Sports Hall Of Fame Adds 11 New Faces, Two New Sports Bill To Finance Charlotte Stadium Passes House http://wunc.org/post/bill-finance-charlotte-stadium-passes-house <p>Lawmakers in the state House have passed a measure that would help finance improvements to the Carolina Panthers' stadium in Charlotte.</p><p>The bill would give the city the flexibility to spend money collected from hotel and prepared food taxes for two options the city council has asked for. Charlotte Republican Ruth Samuelson is a sponsor of the measure.</p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 12762 at http://wunc.org Bill To Finance Charlotte Stadium Passes House