North Carolina Association of Educators http://wunc.org en NC Teachers File Second Lawsuit Challenging Tenure Repeal http://wunc.org/post/nc-teachers-file-second-lawsuit-challenging-tenure-repeal <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The N.C. Association of Educators filed a second major education lawsuit in a week, this time challenging the end of tenure</span><em>—</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">otherwise known as career status</span><em>—</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">for North Carolina public school teachers.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The lawsuit, also filed by six classroom teachers, argues that the repeal of career status violates federal and state constitutions by taking away basic due process rights.</span></p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 12:36:22 +0000 Reema Khrais 27592 at http://wunc.org NC Teachers File Second Lawsuit Challenging Tenure Repeal Teachers Demonstrating Against New Policies With 'Walk-in' http://wunc.org/post/teachers-demonstrating-against-new-policies-walk <p></p><p>Teachers are gathering outside of schools across the state Monday in protest.</p><p>The “teacher walk-in” is being staged before and after the school day by those who feel disrespected by changes to education policies in the most recent legislative session.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 11:13:34 +0000 Dave DeWitt 25209 at http://wunc.org Teachers Demonstrating Against New Policies With 'Walk-in' Perdue Lashes Out At Republicans http://wunc.org/post/perdue-lashes-out-republicans <p>Teachers aren’t the only ones seething after the Republican-led Legislature made it more difficult for educators to pay their dues to the North Carolina Association of Educators.</p> Fri, 06 Jan 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3526 at http://wunc.org Perdue Lashes Out At Republicans Teachers Strike Back http://wunc.org/post/teachers-strike-back <p>Members of the state’s largest teachers’ organization woke up to the news this morning that their dues would no longer be automatically deducted from their paychecks. Dave DeWitt reports.<br> Thu, 05 Jan 2012 21:15:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3529 at http://wunc.org Lawmakers Overturn Governor's Veto of Teacher Assoc Bill http://wunc.org/post/lawmakers-overturn-governors-veto-teacher-assoc-bill <p>Early this morning, state lawmakers overrode the governor's veto of a bill preventing teachers from automatically paying dues to the state's largest organization for educators.<br> Thu, 05 Jan 2012 13:55:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 3530 at http://wunc.org Teachers March For Jobs http://wunc.org/post/teachers-march-jobs <p></p><p></p><p>More than 1,000 teachers from around the state took to the streets of Raleigh today. They were in town for the North Carolina Association of Educators annual conference. They are protesting, in part, against possible budget cuts in the General Assembly that could lead to tens of thousands of teachers and school personnel being laid off. The Legislature is trying to plug a $2.5 billion dollar budget gap. Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:44:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 9313 at http://wunc.org Teachers March For Jobs Teachers Rally In Raleigh http://wunc.org/post/teachers-rally-raleigh <p>The North Carolina Association of Educators will hold its annual convention in Raleigh today. The teachers' group is also expected to march through the city streets.</p><p>North Carolina's teachers are facing thousands of potential layoffs across the state and a nationwide trend portraying them as entrenched and ineffective.</p> Fri, 18 Mar 2011 10:00:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 9316 at http://wunc.org