Census http://wunc.org en Rural County Residents Continue Flocking To Metro Areas http://wunc.org/post/rural-county-residents-continue-flocking-metro-areas <p></p><p>North Carolina's dozen metropolitan areas are growing faster than the country as a whole. That's according to US Census Bureau's county and metro area population estimates from 2012 to 2013.</p><p></p><p>During that time, the US population grew by .7 percent. Wake County had the second-highest growth – after Mecklenberg – with 2.3 percent.</p><p></p><p>Rural counties, including Pasquotank and Halifax were among those losing the most residents.</p><p></p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 12:47:33 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 32778 at http://wunc.org Rural County Residents Continue Flocking To Metro Areas Census: Poverty Up In NC, Health Insurance Rate Steady http://wunc.org/post/census-poverty-nc-health-insurance-rate-steady <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The latest Census report shows North Carolina continues a slow crawl out of the economic downturn.</p><p>In 2012, more people lived below the poverty level in North Carolina than they did the year before.&nbsp; The <a href="https://www.census.gov/newsroom/releases/archives/embargoed_releases/cb13-167.html">Census Bureau’s American Community Survey</a> shows 18% of North Carolinians live in poverty compared to about 16% nationally.</p><p>Ed Welniak heads the Income Statistics branch of the Census Bureau.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 13:01:21 +0000 Leoneda Inge 22754 at http://wunc.org Census: Poverty Up In NC, Health Insurance Rate Steady Puppeteer Basil Twist And The Rite of Spring http://wunc.org/post/puppeteer-basil-twist-and-rite-spring <p>The Rite of Spring by Igor Stravinsky almost caused a riot when it was first seen 100 years ago. The music, the choreography was so unusual and dissonant that the audience rebelled. There was laughter and fistfights. Today it has become a classic piece and is being celebrated on its centenary- yet eyebrows can still be raised when a puppeteer stages The Rite of Spring. Basil Twist and Dick Gordon <a href="http://www.thestory.org/stories/puppeteer-basil-twist-and-rite-spring-41213">speak on the day</a> of a new world premiere.</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2013 15:27:20 +0000 Dick Gordon & Phoebe Judge 13461 at http://wunc.org Puppeteer Basil Twist And The Rite of Spring NC Population Grows by 100,000 http://wunc.org/post/nc-population-grows-100000 <p>North Carolina’s economy may not be growing as fast as lawmakers like. But the state’s population remains on an upward path.&nbsp;<br><br>Numbers from the U-S Census Bureau show North Carolina has the fifth largest population growth in the country.&nbsp; Ben Bolender is a Demographer with the Population Estimates Branch of the Census Bureau.&nbsp; He says the state grew by 101-thousand people"</p><p></p><p style="margin-left: 40px; display: block;">"About 60-thousand more people moved into North Carolina than moved out. So, that’s our net overall migration number."</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 7168 at http://wunc.org Rate Of College Grads In NC Declines http://wunc.org/post/rate-college-grads-nc-declines <p>A lower percentage of North Carolina's young adults are getting college degrees. That's according to <a href="http://www.ed.gov/news/press-releases/new-state-state-college-attainment-numbers-show-progress-toward-2020-goal">census data</a> released earlier this month.<br><br><strong>Dave DeWitt: </strong>At the end of 2009, 37.9 percent of the state's 25-to-34 year old residents had some sort of college degree. A year later, that number fell by three-tenths of a percentage point. That comes as the national trend is going the other way.<br> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 11:52:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 1972 at http://wunc.org Get Your 1940 Census Data Here http://wunc.org/post/get-your-1940-census-data-here <p>One of the rules of the U.S. Census is that all names must be kept anonymous for 72 years. Historians, genealogists and demographers are eagerly awaiting next week’s big reveal of 1940 Census data - names included. Tue, 27 Mar 2012 15:27:00 +0000 Frank Stasio & Susan Davis 5080 at http://wunc.org Get Your 1940 Census Data Here NC Same-Sex Couples More than Double Since 2000 http://wunc.org/post/nc-same-sex-couples-more-double-2000 <p><span style="font-weight: bold;">&nbsp;</span>New census data shows the number of same-sex couples in North Carolina has more than doubled in the past 10 years.<br> Wed, 28 Sep 2011 12:45:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7415 at http://wunc.org NC Residents Get Older http://wunc.org/post/nc-residents-get-older <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">The government continues to roll out new details from the 2010 Census.&nbsp; Figures released yesterday show North Carolina residents are getting older.</span><br style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);"><br style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);"><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line Fri, 20 May 2011 14:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 8765 at http://wunc.org Census Shows NC Still Growing http://wunc.org/post/census-shows-nc-still-growing <p></p><p></p> Thu, 03 Mar 2011 12:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 10103 at http://wunc.org 2010 Census Results http://wunc.org/post/2010-census-results <p>Today, the first round of 2010 U.S. Census results will be released. States are anxiously waiting to find out if they get a new congressional seat or not.<br><br>I guess you can say today is Apportionment Day. Apportionment is the process dividing the 435 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives among the 50 states.</p><p>Wayne Hatcher is the Census Regional Director based in Charlotte.</p> Tue, 21 Dec 2010 14:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 11379 at http://wunc.org