Voter ID http://wunc.org en Fate Of The New N.C. Voter ID Law Now Rests In A Judge's Hands http://wunc.org/post/fate-new-nc-voter-id-law-now-rests-judges-hands North Carolina's voter ID law has come under fire in the courts, challenged by lawyers from the U.S. Department of Justice, the NAACP and voting rights groups. A judge will decide whether parts of the law should be implemented or delayed. Jeff Tiberii of WUNC has been following the hearing, and he wraps up recent developments and possible outcomes. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 WUNC-FM. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:18:00 +0000 editor 38838 at http://wunc.org Recap: First 'Moral Monday' Rally Of This Legislative Season http://wunc.org/post/recap-first-moral-monday-rally-legislative-season <p></p><p>Hundreds of protesters gathered outside of the Legislative Building Monday afternoon. It was the beginning of what they say is a second year of rallies in response to laws passed by the state’s Republican-led legislature.</p><p></p><p>Like many of last year’s Moral Monday rallies, this one started like a party. But it wasn’t exactly a celebration. People protested new laws affecting education, Medicaid and voting.</p><p></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 11:57:15 +0000 Jorge Valencia 35799 at http://wunc.org Recap: First 'Moral Monday' Rally Of This Legislative Season NC Voter ID Lawsuit Moves Forward In Federal District Court http://wunc.org/post/nc-voter-id-lawsuit-moves-forward-federal-district-court <p></p><p>Lawsuits challenging North Carolina's Voter ID law are moving forward in court. The US Department of Justice, the North Carolina NAACP and the League of Women voters are among the groups suing the state over a law passed by the General Assembly last year.</p><p>The law does the following:</p> Sat, 22 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 30971 at http://wunc.org NC Voter ID Lawsuit Moves Forward In Federal District Court Moral Monday Groups Focus On Mobilizing Voters http://wunc.org/post/moral-monday-groups-focus-mobilizing-voters <p></p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jorge Valencia 30316 at http://wunc.org Moral Monday Groups Focus On Mobilizing Voters Thousands To March Downtown Raleigh In Opposition Of New North Carolina Laws http://wunc.org/post/thousands-march-downtown-raleigh-opposition-new-north-carolina-laws <p></p> Sat, 08 Feb 2014 12:47:31 +0000 Jorge Valencia 30242 at http://wunc.org Thousands To March Downtown Raleigh In Opposition Of New North Carolina Laws NAACP: NC’s Voter ID Law Discriminates Against Hispanics And Teenagers http://wunc.org/post/naacp-nc-s-voter-id-law-discriminates-against-hispanics-and-teenagers <p>The North Carolina chapter of the NAACP has expanded its lawsuit against the state’s new Voter ID law to argue that it discriminates against Hispanics and to challenge its elimination of pre-registration for 16- and 17-year-olds.<br /> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jorge Valencia 28713 at http://wunc.org NAACP: NC’s Voter ID Law Discriminates Against Hispanics And Teenagers Challenges To NC’s Voter ID Law Will Be Heard After 2014 Elections http://wunc.org/post/challenges-nc-s-voter-id-law-will-be-heard-after-2014-elections <p>A federal judge has ruled that challenges to the North Carolina law that requires voters to show identification at polling stations will not be heard until after the mid-term elections of 2014.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Jorge Valencia 27317 at http://wunc.org Challenges To NC’s Voter ID Law Will Be Heard After 2014 Elections Parties In NC Voter ID Lawsuit Can’t Agree Even On A Trial Date http://wunc.org/post/parties-nc-voter-id-lawsuit-can-t-agree-even-trial-date <p>Attorneys on both sides of four lawsuits challenging voting rules signed into law by North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory this year are scheduled to meet in U.S. District Court on Thursday morning to argue over an opening date for the trial.<br /><br />The two sides disagree on whether a trial should be heard before the 2014 mid-term elections. The plaintiffs, which include the North Carolina NAACP and the League of Women Voters, are asking the court to schedule for trial in August 2014. The attorneys representing the state are asking for a begin date no earlier than January 2015.<br /> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 23:38:36 +0000 Jorge Valencia 27245 at http://wunc.org Voter Identification Faces Uphill Battle http://wunc.org/post/voter-identification-faces-uphill-battle <p>The election this week was the last in North Carolina before some provisions of a voter ID law go into effect.</p><p>The U.S. Department of Justice is suing the state over its new law, asserting that it may have a chilling effect. Proponents of the law say it is necessary for an even playing field.</p><p>Bob Hall, executive director of <a href="http://www.democracy-nc.org/"><u><font color="#0000ff">Democracy North Carolina</font></u></a>, said the problem with the law isn't just the provision requiring an ID to vote,</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 16:12:49 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 25485 at http://wunc.org Voter Identification Faces Uphill Battle McCrory Stands Behind Voting Law, Says NC Might Be Forced To Expand Medicaid http://wunc.org/post/mccrory-stands-behind-voting-law-says-nc-might-be-forced-expand-medicaid <p>Governor Pat McCrory has again defended North Carolina's new voting law during a talk at a leading conservative think tank.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 13:22:01 +0000 Will Michaels 24524 at http://wunc.org McCrory Stands Behind Voting Law, Says NC Might Be Forced To Expand Medicaid