Native Americans http://wunc.org en The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before http://wunc.org/post/map-native-american-tribes-youve-never-seen Finding an address on a map can be taken for granted in the age of GPS and smartphones. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 37845 at http://wunc.org The Map Of Native American Tribes You've Never Seen Before Dark Water Rising Diversifies Southern Music http://wunc.org/post/dark-water-rising-diversifies-southern-music <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: Tahoma; line-height: normal;">Chapel-Hill based band </span><a href="http://www.darkwaterrising.net/" style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: Tahoma; line-height: normal;">Dark Water Rising</a><span style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: Tahoma; line-height: normal;"> mixes southern rock, gospel harmonies, and traditional </span>Lumbee<span style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: Tahoma; line-height: normal;"> influence to create their "rocky soul" sound. They got together in 2008, when none of them had any formal music training. Since then, they have gained local and national recognition throughout Native American communities.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 15:08:51 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 33246 at http://wunc.org Dark Water Rising Diversifies Southern Music Sacred Animal, White-tailed Deer, Heads To New Home On Cherokee Lands http://wunc.org/post/sacred-animal-white-tailed-deer-heads-new-home-cherokee-lands <p></p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 20:27:33 +0000 Carol Jackson & Phoebe Judge 28626 at http://wunc.org Sacred Animal, White-tailed Deer, Heads To New Home On Cherokee Lands American Indian Students In Higher Education http://wunc.org/post/american-indian-students-higher-education <p><span style="font-family:&quot;Helvetica&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;">Since 2010, the number of American Indian students in the UNC system has been declining. </span></p><p><span style="font-family: &quot;Helvetica&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;">Today, there are 87 American Indian students in a student population of 19,000 undergraduate students at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. </span></p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 26440 at http://wunc.org American Indian Students In Higher Education Author Explores History Of American Indian And African-American Heritage http://wunc.org/post/author-explores-history-american-indian-and-african-american-heritage <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-family:&quot;Helvetica&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;">Many people know that during the Trail of Tears, tens of thousands of American Indians were forced to walk to Oklahoma. </span></p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 16:59:00 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 26439 at http://wunc.org Author Explores History Of American Indian And African-American Heritage Documentary Shows Lumbee Life In Robeson County http://wunc.org/post/documentary-shows-lumbee-life-robeson-county <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-family: &quot;Helvetica&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;">The <a href="http://www.lumbeetribe.com/">Lumbee</a> are the largest American Indian nation east of the Mississippi River and many of them live in Robeson</span><span style="font-family:&quot;Helvetica&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;"> County, North Carolina. </span></p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 16:58:00 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 26438 at http://wunc.org Documentary Shows Lumbee Life In Robeson County Remembering North Carolina’s Tuscarora War http://wunc.org/post/remembering-north-carolina-s-tuscarora-war <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>In the 1600s, European settlers invaded Eastern North Carolina where nations like the Tuscarora, Machapunga, and Core Indians resided.</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 17:12:50 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 25672 at http://wunc.org Remembering North Carolina’s Tuscarora War Poet Draws From Life On The Reservation http://wunc.org/post/poet-draws-life-reservation <p>Natalie Diaz grew up on the Fort Mojave Indian Reservation. While many of those around her struggled with the lack of opportunities, she saw basketball as her way out. Wed, 03 Apr 2013 16:00:51 +0000 Frank Stasio & Shawn Wen 13088 at http://wunc.org Poet Draws From Life On The Reservation Remembering The Indian Tribe Driven From NC 300 Years Ago http://wunc.org/post/remembering-indian-tribe-driven-nc-300-years-ago <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Three hundred years ago this week, European colonialists in what is now eastern North Carolina fought a battle that devastated an American Indian tribe. Thu, 21 Mar 2013 16:21:17 +0000 Will Michaels 12412 at http://wunc.org Remembering The Indian Tribe Driven From NC 300 Years Ago Honoring Willie French Lowery http://wunc.org/post/honoring-willie-french-lowery <p>Songwriter <a href="http://www.indyweek.com/scan/archives/2012/05/07/proud-to-call-him-lumbee-willie-french-lowery-19442012" target="_blank">Willie French Lowery</a> is best remembered for penning Indian heritage anthems like “Proud to be a Lumbee” and writing the original music for “Strike at the Wind,” an annual outdoor drama that honors a Lumbee cultural hero.&nbsp; Lowery was also a successful rock musician, educator, activist and Robeson County community leader before he passed away in May at the age of 67. Fri, 06 Jul 2012 13:06:00 +0000 Frank Stasio & Lindsay Foster Thomas 4330 at http://wunc.org Honoring Willie French Lowery