Engineering http://wunc.org en Duke Researchers Design Toilet That Turns Waste Into Drinking Water http://wunc.org/post/duke-researchers-design-toilet-turns-waste-drinking-water <p>Two years ago, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation launched a research competition called “<a href="http://www.gatesfoundation.org/What-We-Do/Global-Development/Water-Sanitation-and-Hygiene">Reinvent the Toilet</a>,” challenging researchers to create a sewage disposal system that requires no electricity and could be used in developing countries. Marc Deshusses, a professor of civil and environmental engineering at Duke’s Pratt School of Engineering, pitched an idea to the Foundation and won $100,000 to take it further.</p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 18:32:32 +0000 Laura Candler 19129 at http://wunc.org Duke Researchers Design Toilet That Turns Waste Into Drinking Water NC State Researchers Figure Out How To Steer Cockroaches Via Remote Control http://wunc.org/post/nc-state-researchers-figure-out-how-steer-cockroaches-remote-control <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Do you ever wish that you could control roaches? That technology has now been developed, thanks to researchers at North Carolina State University.&nbsp;</span></p><p>Unfortunately, it requires catching the roaches first.</p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 19:43:54 +0000 Laura Candler 17923 at http://wunc.org NC State Researchers Figure Out How To Steer Cockroaches Via Remote Control New Material Can Help Ships Shake Off Scum http://wunc.org/post/new-material-can-help-ships-shake-scum <p></p><p>A new material developed by Duke University engineers may help ships rid accumulated scum from their vessels. The material can be applied like paint to the hull of a ship and can move in response to an electric current to dislodge bacteria and prevent accumulations on the ship’s surface. Bacterial buildup on ships increases drag and reduces the fuel economy of the vessel, as well as blocking or clogging undersea sensors. Thu, 31 Jan 2013 20:11:41 +0000 Laura Candler 9296 at http://wunc.org New Material Can Help Ships Shake Off Scum Purring Exhibit Displays The Healing Power of Sound http://wunc.org/post/purring-exhibit-displays-healing-power-sound <div>http://youtu.be/PXuDi_2dbR8</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div><p>In the age of constant digital stimulus, it can be hard to truly listen to all that's around you. Duncan Laurie will tell you that listening a little closer might bring you happiness or healing. Duncan has found ways to tap into the sonic energy of organic materials, like plants and rock. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 20:17:44 +0000 Frank Stasio & Nicole Campbell 9120 at http://wunc.org N.C. State Researcher Working With Univ. of Maryland On Bridge Sensors http://wunc.org/post/nc-state-researcher-working-univ-maryland-bridge-sensors <p>Teams of scientists from NC State and the University of Maryland are developing new wireless sensors designed to detect structural deficiencies in bridges. They hope the smart technology will help prevent bridge disasters like the one in Minneapolis 5 years ago that claimed the lives of 13 people. Lead scientist Mehdi Kalantari is a research engineer from U-M-D. He says the sensors are durable and are built to withstand harsh conditions...<br> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 21:27:00 +0000 Catherine Brand 1910 at http://wunc.org New Technology Explains Storm Erosion http://wunc.org/post/new-technology-explains-storm-erosion <p>Scientists are getting a better understanding of storm erosion on the Outer Banks. New technology developed by the Army Corps of Engineers is illuminating why storms damage certain spots and not others. Jesse McNinch is Director of the Corps' Field Research Facility in Duck.<br> Tue, 13 Mar 2012 13:15:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 3045 at http://wunc.org Nanotechnology School Opens in Greensboro http://wunc.org/post/nanotechnology-school-opens-greensboro <p></p><p></p><p>Yesterday the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering in Greensboro cut the ribbon to its brand new 64 million dollar facility. Students from UNC-Greensboro and North Carolina A&amp;T State University have been using temporary facilities for the past year. Now, they have state-of-the-art technology as they research everything from diseases to the components of a cell phone. Thu, 08 Dec 2011 12:10:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 7133 at http://wunc.org Nanotechnology School Opens in Greensboro TIMCO Aerosystems Expands To Davidson County http://wunc.org/post/timco-aerosystems-expands-davidson-county <p>TIMCO Aerosystems is showing off its newest manufacturing facility today in Davidson County. &nbsp; The company needed a second plant to keep up with demand.</p><p>The new TIMCO Aerosystems plant is in the town of Wallburg.&nbsp; There are about 140 employees at the facility where airline seating is manufactured for companies like Boeing and Airbus.&nbsp; Rick Salanitri is President of TIMCO Aerosystems.&nbsp; He says they conducted a national search to determine the best place to expand.</p><p></p> Mon, 07 Nov 2011 18:15:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 7261 at http://wunc.org