Public Education http://wunc.org en Teachers Demonstrating Against New Policies With 'Walk-in' http://wunc.org/post/teachers-demonstrating-against-new-policies-walk <p></p><p>Teachers are gathering outside of schools across the state Monday in protest.</p><p>The “teacher walk-in” is being staged before and after the school day by those who feel disrespected by changes to education policies in the most recent legislative session.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 11:13:34 +0000 Dave DeWitt 25209 at http://wunc.org Teachers Demonstrating Against New Policies With 'Walk-in' Education Power Grab In Wake County http://wunc.org/post/education-power-grab-wake-county <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>County School Boards have long since been in charge of school construction. However, the Senate recently passed a bill that would hand over school construction to county commissioners in 10 North Carolina counties. Many people who oppose the bill argue that county commissioners may have experience building prisons but not schools. This is one bill out of many that have been progressing through the Senate recently. Thu, 16 May 2013 16:52:31 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 15468 at http://wunc.org How Charter Schools Are Changing Public Education http://wunc.org/post/how-charter-schools-are-changing-public-education <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seventy new charter schools have applied to become part of North Carolina’s growing population of alternative public schools. For the longest time, the number of charter schools in the state was capped at 100, but lawmakers changed that back in 2011.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 16:11:23 +0000 Frank Stasio & Alex Granados 11572 at http://wunc.org Educators Scheduled To Visit General Assembly http://wunc.org/post/educators-scheduled-visit-general-assembly <p>State legislators have invited groups of educators to visit Raleigh this week in order to get more input on measures that would affect the state's schools. House Speaker Thom Tillis says he and other leaders want to know what educators consider their most pressing issues.</p><p></p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 12:07:13 +0000 Jessica Jones 10983 at http://wunc.org Educators Scheduled To Visit General Assembly Private Money for Public Education http://wunc.org/post/private-money-public-education <p>When organizers of North Carolina's public Governor's School summer enrichment program learned that the state General Assembly had cut their funding, they went to work raising money. So far, the group has secured more than $100,000 in hopes of keeping the program afloat, but not every public educational program at risk has the ability to keep itself funded. What problems arise when we rely too heavily on private donations to pay for public school programs?</p><p></p> Tue, 26 Jul 2011 16:23:00 +0000 Amber Nimocks & Isaac-Davy Aronson 8143 at http://wunc.org Perdue: Public Education At A Crossroads http://wunc.org/post/perdue-public-education-crossroads <p></p><p>Leaders in business, education, and government gathered in Raleigh today to discuss the future of student readiness. They were there as part of the "Many Voices, One Goal" Education Conference. Thu, 24 Mar 2011 21:13:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 9234 at http://wunc.org Perdue: Public Education At A Crossroads