Nancy McFarlane http://wunc.org en More Rec Centers Proposed For Raleigh Strip Malls http://wunc.org/post/more-rec-centers-proposed-raleigh-strip-malls <p>Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane has asked her staff to look for vacant commercial space that she might recommend for recreational development.&nbsp;</p><p>McFarlane offered the idea of leasing space in strip malls and shopping centers to build recreational facilities. It's an attempt to kill two birds with one stone- build the recreational facilities the city wants/needs while also creating an anchor business in a shopping center that might otherwise be floundering.</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 14:06:26 +0000 Eric Mennel 28340 at http://wunc.org More Rec Centers Proposed For Raleigh Strip Malls McFarlane Wins Raleigh Mayoral Race http://wunc.org/post/mcfarlane-wins-raleigh-mayoral-race <p>Raleigh voters have elected the city's first new mayor in a decade-- City Council member Nancy McFarlane.<br><br>McFarlane beat Billie Redmond and Randall Williams with 61 percent of the vote. She says she's thrilled to be the city's next leader.<br><br><span style="margin-left: 40px; display: block;"><span style="font-weight: bold;">Nancy McFarlane:</span>" It's a huge honor and it's very humbling to know that that many people have faith in you. It's also very exciting to know that that many people share a vision of Raleigh and where we're going to go. "</span> Wed, 12 Oct 2011 12:25:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 7363 at http://wunc.org Raleigh Voters Will Choose New Mayor http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-voters-will-choose-new-mayor <p>Voters in Raleigh will help choose a new mayor at the polls tomorrow.<br> Mon, 10 Oct 2011 21:37:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 7367 at http://wunc.org The Part-Time Politician http://wunc.org/post/part-time-politician <p></p><p></p><p>Next Tuesday, voters will go to the polls in Raleigh to choose a new mayor. For the first time in a decade, they will pick someone who is not Charles Meeker. Billie Redmond, Nancy McFarlane, and Randall Williams are all running to replace him. And if history is any guide, it will be the last elected position any of them will ever run for. Becoming mayor in the state’s capitol city is hardly a stepping stone to a long political career.</p> Thu, 06 Oct 2011 09:20:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 7375 at http://wunc.org The Part-Time Politician Meeker Endorses McFarlane http://wunc.org/post/meeker-endorses-mcfarlane <p>Outgoing Raleigh Mayor Charles Meeker has made an endorsement for his successor.<br>&nbsp;</p><p>Meeker has thrown his support behind Nancy McFarlane, who served on the City Council for four of Meeker’s ten years in office. Meeker made the announcement this afternoon.</p><p>McFarlane is running as an unaffiliated candidate. Meeker is a democrat.</p> Mon, 03 Oct 2011 20:10:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 7387 at http://wunc.org New Leaders Running in Raleigh http://wunc.org/post/new-leaders-running-raleigh <p>Candidates for Raleigh mayor and city council meet tonight for a candidate forum.</p><p>For the first time in 10 years, there is no incumbent running for mayor in Raleigh. In April, Charles Meeker decided not to seek a sixth term.</p><p>Three candidates are seeking to replace him and none of them are democrats. Nancy MacFarlane is running as an unaffiliated candidate, although she has been endorsed by the Wake County Democratic Party. Randall Williams and Billie Jean Redmond are running as Republicans.</p> Tue, 13 Sep 2011 15:49:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 7478 at http://wunc.org Campaigns Heating Up In Wake http://wunc.org/post/campaigns-heating-wake <p>It’s campaign season in cities and counties across the state. And nowhere are the races more interesting or hotly contested than in Wake County.</p> Tue, 16 Aug 2011 21:05:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 8230 at http://wunc.org