State Park http://wunc.org en [PHOTOS] Zoos, State Parks - What's Open & Closed http://wunc.org/post/photos-zoos-state-parks-whats-open-closed <p>The North Carolina Zoo in Asheboro will be closed Saturday and Sunday. Zoo staff must clear more than 5 miles of walkways inside the park. The facility will likely reopen Monday.</p><p>In addition, the NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources reports:</p> Sat, 15 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Carol Jackson 30599 at http://wunc.org [PHOTOS] Zoos, State Parks - What's Open & Closed Parks Offer Free Hikes To Start 2014 http://wunc.org/post/parks-offer-free-hikes-start-2014 <p>North Carolina's state parks will offer free hikes on New Year's Day, along with educational opportunities for children and adults alike. More than <a href="http://ncparks.gov/Education/first_day.php">40 outings</a> are scheduled, rain or shine, as a healthy way to ring in the new year. Some hikes will be only a couple of miles, while others will run as long as 5 miles.</p><p>It's the third year the state parks system has offered free First Day Hikes. Park officials expect thousands to attend across the state.</p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Eric Mennel 28222 at http://wunc.org Parks Offer Free Hikes To Start 2014 Plan for Blue Ridge Parkway Discussed http://wunc.org/post/plan-blue-ridge-parkway-discussed <p>The Blue Ridge Parkway is finally getting a <a href="http://parkplanning.nps.gov/projectHome.cfm?projectID=10419">management plan</a>. The long-delayed outline for the next twenty years goes to a series of public hearings starting later today. Phil Francis is the park's Superintendent. He says much of the land that forms the backdrop for many of the views along the parkway's 469 miles is privately owned.<br> Wed, 02 Nov 2011 17:29:00 +0000 Eric Hodge 7280 at http://wunc.org Taking Refuge in the Great Dismal Swamp http://wunc.org/post/taking-refuge-great-dismal-swamp <p></p><p>It's tough to imagine the 112,000 muck-filled, bug-swarmed acres of the Great Dismal Swamp looking like paradise. But for enslaved people in the 18th- and 19th-century, the swamp provided protection from those who wished to keep them in bondage.</p><p> Tue, 12 Jul 2011 16:47:00 +0000 Amber Nimocks & Frank Stasio 8169 at http://wunc.org Taking Refuge in the Great Dismal Swamp New App for Visiting State Parks http://wunc.org/post/new-app-visiting-state-parks <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">Visitors to the North Carolina State Parks can take advantage of a new smart phone app. The Pocket Ranger Mobile Tour Guide can be downloaded from the iTunes Store and Android Market. Mon, 09 May 2011 22:47:00 +0000 Catherine Brand 8837 at http://wunc.org Chimney Rock Park Plans Posted http://wunc.org/post/chimney-rock-park-plans-posted <p></p><p style="line-height: 15px; margin-bottom: 0.75em; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">The public gets its first look today at the draft master plans for the new Chimney Rock State Park.&nbsp; The landmark near Asheville has been one of western North Carolina’s top attractions for decades.&nbsp; In 2007, its private owners sold it to the state to become part of a large new state park at Hickory Nut Gorge.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 29 Nov 2010 10:00:00 +0000 Laura Leslie 12104 at http://wunc.org Chimney Rock Park Plans Posted