Gasoline http://wunc.org en Durham Entices Residents To Scrap Gas Lawn Mowers http://wunc.org/post/durham-entices-residents-scrap-gas-lawn-mowers <p></p><p>Durham's "Get Your Grass Off Gas" campaign kicks off its fourth year next weekend. Each year, the city collects gas-powered yard equipment – like lawn mowers and weed whackers. They send those to the scrap yard and give residents discounts on new electric models.</p><p></p><p>City Sustainability Officer Tobin Freid says about 300 people have turned in gas-powered equipment over the past three years.</p><p></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 12:16:22 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 37213 at http://wunc.org Durham Entices Residents To Scrap Gas Lawn Mowers Raleigh Approves Funding For More Propane Police Cars http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-approves-funding-more-propane-police-cars <p>The Raleigh Police Department is adding propane tanks to more of its patrol cars after a two-year test run.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 19:23:08 +0000 Will Michaels 21999 at http://wunc.org Raleigh Approves Funding For More Propane Police Cars Gas Tax Becoming An Unreliable Source Of Revenue http://wunc.org/post/gas-tax-becoming-unreliable-source-revenue <p>The state Department of Transportation's main source of revenue will drop sharply over the next decade.&nbsp;</p><p>That's according to the DOT's chief financial officer, who recently told the Board of Transportation that more fuel efficient cars are cutting into state revenue from the gas tax.&nbsp; That source of funding accounts for 70 percent of the department's budget.&nbsp; The DOT's CFO, Mark Foster, says growth in revenue from the gas tax depends on more drivers using more gas. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 17:56:34 +0000 Will Michaels 21480 at http://wunc.org Gas Tax Becoming An Unreliable Source Of Revenue New Tool Compares Fuel Costs For Electric & Non-Electric Cars http://wunc.org/post/new-tool-compares-fuel-costs-electric-non-electric-cars <p>A<a href="http://energy.gov/articles/egallon-how-much-cheaper-it-drive-electricity"> new tool on the US Department of Energy’s website</a> allows users in each state to compare the price of power for an electric car to the cost of driving the same distance using gasoline. In North Carolina, a gallon of regular, unleaded fuel costs an average of $3.41. The equivalent amount of electricity costs about a third of that- an average of $1.02. That’s 12 cents less than the national average. Mon, 17 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Avery Kleinman 17269 at http://wunc.org New Tool Compares Fuel Costs For Electric & Non-Electric Cars Raleigh Gets Its First Alternative Fuel Station http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-gets-its-first-alternative-fuel-station <p>People who live in the Raleigh area and want to use alternative fuels for their cars or trucks have a new choice. A station on New Bern Avenue opens today with both E-85 ethanol blend and bio-diesel available. It's the first of its kind in the state capital. Anne Tazewell is the transportation manager for the North Carolina Solar Center at N-C State. She says alternative fuel stations are slowly spreading across the state.<br> Wed, 16 Nov 2011 18:45:00 +0000 Eric Hodge 7209 at http://wunc.org Drivers Get Gas Saving Tips http://wunc.org/post/drivers-get-gas-saving-tips <p>Drivers can learn how to save gas at a workshop today in Raleigh. The North Carolina Solar Center will host the <a href="http://www.ncdot.org/programs/drivegreen/">Drive Green, Save Green</a> demonstration. Participants will drive a five-mile course as they normally would and then try again with a few pointers in mind. Anne Tazewell from the Solar Center says a conscientious driver can save an extra 10 to 30 percent on fuel by following their advice.<br> Wed, 13 Apr 2011 09:45:00 +0000 WUNC News 9078 at http://wunc.org Love And Gasoline http://wunc.org/post/love-and-gasoline <p>Love may make the world go around, but sometimes it may need a little gasoline to keep it going. North Carolina Public Radio asked listeners how the year's dramatic rise in gasoline prices has affected their personal lives. Fri, 19 Sep 2008 13:32:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 17668 at http://wunc.org