Wildlife http://wunc.org en Bear Spotted In Raleigh, 'Looking For A Place To Live' http://wunc.org/post/bear-spotted-raleigh-looking-place-live <p></p><p>Early Monday, officials were tracking a bear in the Five Points area of Raleigh. <a href="http://www.wral.com/bear-spotted-in-raleigh-s-five-points-area/13713002/">WRAL reported</a> that information about the bear began to come in after midnight.</p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 15:50:30 +0000 Carol Jackson, Eric Hodge & Rebecca Martinez 36941 at http://wunc.org Bear Spotted In Raleigh, 'Looking For A Place To Live' Scientists Rush To Find (And Name) Species To Save Them http://wunc.org/post/scientists-rush-find-and-name-species-save-them <p></p><p>Species are going extinct about 1,000 times faster than they should be because their habitat is being destroyed. That's according to new <a href="http://www.sciencemag.org/content/344/6187/1246752.abstract">research led by Duke University</a>.</p><p></p><p>Conservation Ecology Professor Stuart Pimm said the worse news is that nearly 90 percent of the species are unknown to scientists.</p><p></p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 11:52:31 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 36923 at http://wunc.org Scientists Rush To Find (And Name) Species To Save Them 200,000 Waterfowl At NC's Lake Mattamuskeet: A Symphony Of Sight And Sound http://wunc.org/post/200000-waterfowl-ncs-lake-mattamuskeet-symphony-sight-and-sound <div>The annual migration of waterfowl to Lake Mattamuskeet is underway in Swan Quarter. Roughly 200,000 birds were counted in the National wildlife refuge this month, continuing a rising trend over years past.&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>That means visitors to the lake are in for some noise for the next month or so. The &nbsp;birds have made the refuge their temporary home. &nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>John Stanton with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service said it's a remarkable sound, followed by a remarkable silence:</div><div> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 12:47:27 +0000 Eric Mennel 29413 at http://wunc.org 200,000 Waterfowl At NC's Lake Mattamuskeet: A Symphony Of Sight And Sound Sacred Animal, White-tailed Deer, Heads To New Home On Cherokee Lands http://wunc.org/post/sacred-animal-white-tailed-deer-heads-new-home-cherokee-lands <p></p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 20:27:33 +0000 Carol Jackson & Phoebe Judge 28626 at http://wunc.org Sacred Animal, White-tailed Deer, Heads To New Home On Cherokee Lands SLIDESHOW: Restaurant Menus Provide Valuable Data On Fish Populations http://wunc.org/post/slideshow-restaurant-menus-provide-valuable-data-fish-populations <p>Duke researchers have thought up a creative way to fill in missing details about Hawaii's wild fish population: restaurant menus. &nbsp;</p><p>The colorful artifacts that tourists often save as souvenirs are filled with&nbsp;tiki-men, surfers and luau girls. But they also contain valuable information that a trio of scientists used to fill in a 45-year gap in Hawaii's official records during the mid-20th century.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Avery Kleinman 20284 at http://wunc.org SLIDESHOW: Restaurant Menus Provide Valuable Data On Fish Populations Wildlife Resources Commission Investigates Dead, Injured Brown Pelicans http://wunc.org/post/wildlife-resources-commission-investigates-dead-injured-brown-pelicans <p>State wildlife officials are continuing to investigate the deaths and injuries of brown pelicans along the North Carolina coast.&nbsp; They say more than 200 of the birds have been found.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 08 May 2013 13:27:01 +0000 Gurnal Scott 14956 at http://wunc.org Wildlife Resources Commission Investigates Dead, Injured Brown Pelicans Deadly Bat Fungus Spreading Through Western NC http://wunc.org/post/deadly-bat-fungus-spreading-through-western-nc <p>A deadly fungus known as white-nose syndrome has been decimating bat populations in the Eastern United States and is spreading quickly through western portions of North Carolina. It was discovered in upstate New York in 2006. The infection is marked by a white frosting of fungus around the bat's nose, ears, and wings.</p> Fri, 12 Apr 2013 20:22:45 +0000 Catherine Brand 13603 at http://wunc.org Deadly Bat Fungus Spreading Through Western NC Another Wave of Pelican Deaths Hits the Coast http://wunc.org/post/another-wave-pelican-deaths-hits-coast <p></p><p>Dead and injured pelicans are washing up on North Carolina shores. Around 20 dead birds were found on North Topsail Beach earlier this month. Many had severely broken wings. Mon, 12 Dec 2011 10:00:00 +0000 WUNC News 7124 at http://wunc.org Another Wave of Pelican Deaths Hits the Coast Black Bears Spotted in Central NC http://wunc.org/post/black-bears-spotted-central-nc <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">People from Greensboro to Garner have been spotting black bears in recent days. Officials say it's the time of year juveniles typically venture out of their home habitats in search of a new place to live. Colleen Olfenbuttel is a biologist with the NC Wildlife Resources Commission. She says bear sightings in the Triangle and Triad are becoming more frequent.</span><br style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);"> Mon, 23 May 2011 22:37:00 +0000 Catherine Brand 8757 at http://wunc.org Black Bears Spotted in Central NC Bald Head Island Considering Birth Control for Deer http://wunc.org/post/bald-head-island-considering-birth-control-deer <p>Village leaders on Bald Head Island say their deer population is near the limit the island can support. One solution they're considering is shooting female deer with contraceptive-laced darts. But biologist Robbie Norville of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission says most wildlife contraceptives simply aren't effective.</p> Tue, 15 Feb 2011 08:00:00 +0000 Will Michaels 10168 at http://wunc.org