Wake Tech http://wunc.org en A New App Challenges Wake Tech To Be More Sustainable http://wunc.org/post/new-app-challenges-wake-tech-be-more-sustainable <p>Wake Tech Community College is backing up its commitment to sustainability with the launch of a new partnership with JouleBug, a mobile app customized for its students. The free <a href="http://joulebug.com/">JouleBug app</a> was created in Raleigh and gives users points, pins, and rewards for making sustainable choices – like taking shorter showers, recycling, or eating on campus to reduce vehicle emissions.</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 21:24:30 +0000 Catherine Brand 14114 at http://wunc.org A New App Challenges Wake Tech To Be More Sustainable Wake Tech Bond On Ballot http://wunc.org/post/wake-tech-bond-ballot <p>Voters in Wake County will decide the fate of a $200 million bond for Wake Tech Community College.<br> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 12:06:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 3249 at http://wunc.org Wake Tech Bond On Ballot Community Colleges Seeing Big Gains In Enrollment http://wunc.org/post/community-colleges-seeing-big-gains-enrollment <p>Some area community colleges are reporting increased enrollment for the coming semester, among them Durham Tech and Wake Tech. Numbers for Wake Tech Community College are already over 20-thousand with a few days left to register. Wake Tech President Stephen Scott credits the steadily-improving economy to the a surge in enrollment along with class affordability and quality in the programs. Placement, he adds, is nearly 100 percent in many fields of study including medical, IT, and engineering. Scott says part of the success may be due to how the college looks at a technical education. Thu, 16 Aug 2012 22:11:00 +0000 Catherine Brand 1888 at http://wunc.org Wake Launching Tech High School http://wunc.org/post/wake-launching-tech-high-school <p>Students in Wake County Schools who seek technical skills that could lead to jobs may soon have a new school to consider. The Wake School Board has approved the creation of a new career technical high school.<br><br><strong>Dave DeWitt: </strong>The Career Technical High School would be a partnership with Wake Technical Community College. It would offer classes and certificates in areas like automobile repair, biopharmaceuticals and cosmetology.<br> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 08:10:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 2646 at http://wunc.org Duke, Wake Tech Honored http://wunc.org/post/duke-wake-tech-honored <p></p><p>Wake Tech and Duke University are two of the best higher education institutions at which to work. The national survey was conducted by the Chronicle of Higher Education.</p><p>Both schools are no strangers to being recognized as great places to work. Duke is making its fourth straight appearance on the annual list; Wake Tech is making its third. Wed, 27 Jul 2011 09:45:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 8306 at http://wunc.org Duke, Wake Tech Honored Raleigh Businesses Gear Up For All-Star Weekend http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-businesses-gear-all-star-weekend <p>Thousands of hockey fans will gather in Raleigh later this month for All-Star Weekend and local businesses are preparing by sharpening their customer service skills. A conference will be held this afternoon by Wake Tech Community College at the RBC center.</p><p>Wake Tech instructor Jane Broden says the presentation will focus on customer service for small business owners, retailers, hospitality staff, and managers.</p> Thu, 06 Jan 2011 10:05:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 11349 at http://wunc.org