Aviation http://wunc.org en Asheville Aviation Ascends http://wunc.org/post/asheville-aviation-ascends <p></p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 15:22:14 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 25877 at http://wunc.org TIMCO Sold To Asian Company http://wunc.org/post/timco-sold-asian-company <p></p><p>Greensboro based TIMCO Aviation is being sold to Hong Kong company for 388 million dollars. TIMCO is one of the nation’s largest MROs (maintenance, repair, and overhaul). It provides service to commercial and military aircraft and has government contracts. The hedge fund that owns TIMCO agreed this week to sell the company to HAECO for $388 million. The deal will create one of the largest MROs in the world.</p> Thu, 24 Oct 2013 22:05:58 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 24683 at http://wunc.org TIMCO Sold To Asian Company Aviation Training Center Opens In Currituck County http://wunc.org/post/aviation-training-center-opens-currituck-county <p>State dignitaries are in northeastern North Carolina this morning for the official opening of the new Regional Aviation and Technical Training Center in Currituck County.</p><p>Currituck County has been waiting a long time for this <a href="http://www.albemarle.edu/currituck">Aviation and Technical Training Center</a> and it took a lot of money to make it happen - $7.1 million.</p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:54:47 +0000 Leoneda Inge 20054 at http://wunc.org Aviation Training Center Opens In Currituck County Taking Flight For Aviation Jobs Of Tomorrow http://wunc.org/post/taking-flight-aviation-jobs-tomorrow <p></p><div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Across the state thousands of high school students will graduate this weekend. About three dozen are from the <a href="http://aviation.gcsnc.com/">Aviation Academy at T.W. Andrews High School</a> in Guilford County. It’s one of only a few such programs in the state preparing young men and women for careers in aeronautics and engineering. And after two classes of students, the program’s graduate rate is perfect.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 31 May 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 16288 at http://wunc.org Taking Flight For Aviation Jobs Of Tomorrow NC Airports Rake in Over $20 Billion for NC Economy http://wunc.org/post/nc-airports-rake-over-20-billion-nc-economy <p>The Christmas and New Year holiday travel season means big business for the nation’s airports.&nbsp; A report by N-C State and the Institute for Transportation Research and Education shows just how big aviation is in this state.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 6821 at http://wunc.org Kitty Hawk Celebrations Mark 109 Years Of Flight http://wunc.org/post/kitty-hawk-celebrations-mark-109-years-flight <p>Wilbur and Orville Wright launched their first successful powered flight 109 years ago today on the Outer Banks. A series of events at the Wright Brothers National Memorial this morning honor the anniversary. Fly-overs by Marine jets and Coast Guard planes and helicopters and a wreath laying ceremony will be part of the activities. Joshua Boles is a park ranger at the Memorial. He says the weather was a challenge for those manning that first flight.</p> Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:30:00 +0000 Eric Hodge 6215 at http://wunc.org Aviation Hub in Currituck County http://wunc.org/post/aviation-hub-currituck-county <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; line-height: 15px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">Officials in Currituck County announced today they are building a Regional Aviation and Technical Training Center. Fri, 15 Apr 2011 22:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 9001 at http://wunc.org