Water http://wunc.org en NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, June 16 http://wunc.org/post/nc-general-assembly-stories-we-re-following-week-monday-june-16 <p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 11:42:50 +0000 Jorge Valencia 37329 at http://wunc.org NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, June 16 NC Senate Wants Fracking In The State By July 2015, But House May Not Be Ready http://wunc.org/post/nc-senate-wants-fracking-state-july-2015-house-may-not-be-ready <p></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 00:11:52 +0000 Jorge Valencia 35942 at http://wunc.org NC Senate Wants Fracking In The State By July 2015, But House May Not Be Ready Five Actions NC Lawmakers Want To Take On Fracking This Spring http://wunc.org/post/five-actions-nc-lawmakers-want-take-fracking-spring <p></p><p></p> Fri, 09 May 2014 12:50:25 +0000 Jorge Valencia 35186 at http://wunc.org Five Actions NC Lawmakers Want To Take On Fracking This Spring This Durham Mechanic Bought A Million Acres Of Rainforest To Save His Home Village http://wunc.org/post/durham-mechanic-bought-million-acres-rainforest-save-his-home-village <p></p><p>Godi Godar lives and works in Durham, NC. He's a mechanic there. That's kind of amazing since Godar had never seen a car until he was in his 20s.</p><p>Godi grew up in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). There was no running water or electricity in his town, Ikoko Bonginda. (Ikoko is in the Congolese rainforest, several hundred miles upriver from the DRC's capital, Kinshasa.)</p><p>Godi recalls seeing electricity across the lake, where the missionaries were.</p><p>"I remember saying, 'Wow, look at the lights there!' It was a trip."</p> Thu, 01 May 2014 16:43:48 +0000 Carol Jackson 34767 at http://wunc.org This Durham Mechanic Bought A Million Acres Of Rainforest To Save His Home Village NC Law Makers Offer No New Solutions To Clean Pollution From Jordan Lake http://wunc.org/post/nc-law-makers-offer-no-new-solutions-clean-pollution-jordan-lake <p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 08:53:47 +0000 Jorge Valencia 33937 at http://wunc.org NC Law Makers Offer No New Solutions To Clean Pollution From Jordan Lake Artists Explore The Sounds And Imagery Of Ice http://wunc.org/post/artists-explore-sounds-and-imagery-ice <p></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 16:48:55 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 30387 at http://wunc.org Artists Explore The Sounds And Imagery Of Ice Committee Charged To Clean-Up Jordan Lake http://wunc.org/post/committee-charged-clean-jordan-lake <p></p><p>A committee of state lawmakers is trying to determine how to best clean-up Jordan Lake. The group met for the first time yesterday. &nbsp;Jordan Lake has large amounts of nitrogen and phosphorus, which on their own don’t present any significant problem. But when those nutrients sit stagnant in the lake for as long as a year at a time, it leads to toxic algae and chlorophyll. &nbsp;The state is going to soon start using something called the SolarBee, devices that will move water around and decrease stagnation.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 12:42:20 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 29331 at http://wunc.org Committee Charged To Clean-Up Jordan Lake The Danger Of Toxic Algae To North Carolina http://wunc.org/post/danger-toxic-algae-north-carolina <p>Algae may seem harmless, but toxic algae blooms can be a real problem in water supplies used by people.</p><p>They can kill wildlife in the water and be dangerous to humans. Host Frank Stasio talks with <a href="http://marine.unc.edu/people/faculty-2/hans-paerl/">Hans Paerl,</a> professor of Marine and Environmental Sciences at the <a href="http://unc.edu">University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill</a> <a href="https://ims.unc.edu/">Institute of Marine Sciences</a>, Morehead City.</p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 16:36:09 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 28924 at http://wunc.org The Danger Of Toxic Algae To North Carolina NC Will Stop Monitoring Water Quality At 41 Swimming Locations http://wunc.org/post/nc-will-stop-monitoring-water-quality-41-swimming-locations <p></p><p>Federal cuts mean the state will stop monitoring water quality at several dozen swimming sites along coastal rivers and sounds in the coming year. The Environmental Protection Agency cut $22,000 from a grant for the testing.</p><p></p><p>The North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries uses a combination of state and federal funds to test 240 swimming areas for certain bacteria.<br /><br />Director Louis Daniel says the division has notified county heath and summer camp directors that it will stop testing water quality at 41 swimming areas in coastal rivers and sounds.</p><p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 12:56:34 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 28161 at http://wunc.org NC Will Stop Monitoring Water Quality At 41 Swimming Locations Raleigh Is Phasing Out Its Toilet Rebate Program http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-phasing-out-its-toilet-rebate-program <p></p><p>Raleigh residents have until January first to take advantage of the city's toilet upgrade reimbursement.</p><p>Raleigh has been giving out $100 rebates for efficient toilets since 2009. It was part of an effort to encourage water conservation following the severe drought in 2007 and 2008.</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 14:08:08 +0000 Catherine Brand 26571 at http://wunc.org Raleigh Is Phasing Out Its Toilet Rebate Program