Economic Development http://wunc.org en No Evidence That Low-Paid Immigrants Are "Taking" NC Jobs http://wunc.org/post/no-evidence-low-paid-immigrants-are-taking-nc-jobs <p></p><p>A new study is challenging the notion that low-paid immigrant populations are "taking" jobs from native North Carolinians.</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 01:03:18 +0000 WUNC News 33871 at http://wunc.org No Evidence That Low-Paid Immigrants Are "Taking" NC Jobs New Nonprofit CEO Slows Partial Privatization Of NC Commerce Dept. http://wunc.org/post/new-nonprofit-ceo-slows-partial-privatization-nc-commerce-dept <p></p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 12:36:41 +0000 Jorge Valencia 29675 at http://wunc.org New Nonprofit CEO Slows Partial Privatization Of NC Commerce Dept. NC Commerce Talks Privatization http://wunc.org/post/nc-commerce-talks-privatization <p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.nccommerce.com/about-our-department/boards-commissions/economic-development-board">North Carolina’s Economic Development Board</a> is reviewing strategies and making suggestions on how to help re-vamp the state Commerce Department.</p><p>Commerce Secretary Sharon Decker says she’s pretty positive the Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina will be a reality.</p><p>“It’s a total re-organization, it is indeed.&nbsp; Redesign, I guess is a better way to say it," said Decker.</p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 03:43:23 +0000 Leoneda Inge 27253 at http://wunc.org NC Commerce Talks Privatization Ipas Celebrates 40 Years http://wunc.org/post/ipas-celebrates-40-years <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><font face="Arial"><span style="">Forty years ago, the controversial supreme court decision Roe Versus Wade ushered in a new era of reproductive rights and touched off a culture war that has waged ever since. </span></font> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 15:48:31 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 17161 at http://wunc.org Ipas Celebrates 40 Years Groups Tackles Intractable North Carolina Poverty Problem http://wunc.org/post/groups-tackles-intractable-north-carolina-poverty-problem <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gene </span>Nichol<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Director of the </span><a href="http://www.law.unc.edu/centers/poverty/default.aspx" style="line-height: 1.5;"><u><font color="#0066cc">Center on Poverty, Work &amp; Opportunity</font></u></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, said on </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">The State of&nbsp;Things</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> today&nbsp;that the financial collapse really hurt the poor but that the problem is multifaceted.</span> Tue, 04 Jun 2013 16:41:58 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 16562 at http://wunc.org Groups Tackles Intractable North Carolina Poverty Problem Raleigh Development Flourishes Thanks To Resilient Economy http://wunc.org/post/raleigh-development-flourishes-thanks-resilient-economy <p>Raleigh city officials have plans for several new residential developments in the middle of the capital city.&nbsp; They say it's part of their master plan to entice not only new residents but new business downtown.<br><br>It is also an indication that Raleigh is doing well economically.&nbsp; City Planning Director Mitchell Silver says residences that are on the drawing board or under construction are geared toward not just urban professionals, but families. Wed, 15 May 2013 11:44:42 +0000 Gurnal Scott 15364 at http://wunc.org Raleigh Development Flourishes Thanks To Resilient Economy Senate Bill Would Abolish Regional Economic Development Commissions http://wunc.org/post/senate-bill-would-abolish-regional-economic-development-commissions <p>A bill that would abolish regional economic development commissions has tentatively passed the state Senate.</p><p>The measure would dissolve all seven of the state's commissions. The Department of Commerce would then send at least one employee to work in one of eight newly created economic zones.</p> Tue, 14 May 2013 10:07:29 +0000 Jessica Jones 15296 at http://wunc.org Senate Bill Would Abolish Regional Economic Development Commissions Greensboro Looks For A Million Dollar Idea http://wunc.org/post/greensboro-looks-million-dollar-idea <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Leaders in Greensboro are accepting submissions for a federal grant that will award one million dollars for an innovative plan. &nbsp;The winning idea is supposed to help the city’s economy by designing a way to improve long-term job prospects. &nbsp;Organizers admit they’re being purposely vague to see what kind of submissions they get to develop the city. &nbsp;A panel of about 20 people that will ultimately chose the winning entry, met for the first time on Wednesday.</span> Thu, 02 May 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 14633 at http://wunc.org Greensboro Looks For A Million Dollar Idea New Master Plan For RTP http://wunc.org/post/new-master-plan-rtp <p>Research Triangle Park leaders have rolled out a new <a href="http://rtp.org/research-triangle-parks-master-plan" target="_blank">master plan</a> to transform the business center into a more community-friendly atmosphere.&nbsp;<br><br><strong>Gurnal Scott: </strong>You may not realize that RTP has been around 53 years. Its foundation says it must look beyond its original vision of business innovation to grow in the next half century. CEO Bob Geolas says job growth is still a top priority.<br> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 21:30:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 4638 at http://wunc.org Greensboro Gets $1M Grant To Grow Economy http://wunc.org/post/greensboro-gets-1m-grant-grow-economy <p>The City of Greensboro is getting a one million dollar federal grant designed to generate economic growth. The grant is part of a program aimed at encouraging innovative ideas, strategies and perspectives for long-term job growth. Greensboro will hold a competition and request ideas for ways to bolster the local economy.</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2012 11:30:00 +0000 Jeff Tiberii 1822 at http://wunc.org