Theater http://wunc.org en Singing, Dancing Assassins http://wunc.org/post/singing-dancing-assassins <p><span style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: Tahoma; line-height: 1.5;">What would have happened if John Wilkes Booth and Lee Harvey Oswald had met? Stephen Sonheim's musical, "Assassins" imagines a time when nine presidential killers or would-be killers can walk into a bar together. The show raises questions about what the pursuit of happiness means in America. Performed by <a href="https://www.playmakersrep.org/">PlayMakers Repertory Company</a>, "Assassins" runs through April 20 at the Paul Green Theater in Chapel Hill.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 15:36:15 +0000 Meghan Modafferi & Frank Stasio 33248 at http://wunc.org Singing, Dancing Assassins From The Air Force To The Chair Force http://wunc.org/post/air-force-chair-force <p></p><p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">After an unexpected pregnancy, an F-16 pilot gets reassigned to a desk job: flying drones from an armchair in a windowless trailer in Nevada.</span></p><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 16:18:50 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 32198 at http://wunc.org From The Air Force To The Chair Force The Aftermath Of Medical Mistakes http://wunc.org/post/aftermath-medical-mistakes <p></p><p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 15px; line-height: 1.5;">When Dr. Becca Neal loses a patient after a routine procedure,&nbsp;she grieves much like the&nbsp;patient's family.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:17:52 +0000 Meghan Modafferi & Frank Stasio 31190 at http://wunc.org The Aftermath Of Medical Mistakes "Celebration" Is A Dark Comedy About A Family Secret http://wunc.org/post/celebration-dark-comedy-about-family-secret <p></p><p></p><p><font style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13px;"><span style="font-size: 11pt;">When a dark secret is revealed at father's 60th birthday party, the whole family has something to say about it.</span></font></p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:41:34 +0000 Meghan Modafferi & Frank Stasio 30807 at http://wunc.org "Celebration" Is A Dark Comedy About A Family Secret A Lifelong Friendship Of Civil Rights Activist And Ku Klux Klan Member http://wunc.org/post/lifelong-friendship-civil-rights-activist-and-ku-klux-klan-member <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 16:39:21 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 27273 at http://wunc.org A Lifelong Friendship Of Civil Rights Activist And Ku Klux Klan Member How Would The Pied Piper Look In Indigo Blue? http://wunc.org/post/how-would-pied-piper-look-indigo-blue <p>Durham's&nbsp;<a href="http://www.walltownchildrenstheatre.org/">Walltown Children's Theatre</a> is re-imagining the classic tale of The Pied Piper. It's called <a href="http://www.walltownchildrenstheatre.org/indigo-blue.html">"Indigo Blue."</a> In honor of the update, here is a portion of the poem by Robert Browning.</p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 17:39:46 +0000 Alex Granados 27212 at http://wunc.org How Would The Pied Piper Look In Indigo Blue? All Black Cast Brings New Voice To Theatre Classic "Our Town" http://wunc.org/post/all-black-cast-brings-new-voice-theatre-classic-our-town <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: normal;">Durham's </span><a href="http://littlegreenpig.com/" style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: normal;">Little Green Pig</a><span style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: normal;"> </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">theatre</span><span style="font-family: Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: normal;"> company is performing the classic story of small town life, "Our Town.” But this show differs from traditional performances of the production because it features an all-black cast. </span></p><p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 15:53:10 +0000 Nicole Campbell & Frank Stasio 21991 at http://wunc.org All Black Cast Brings New Voice To Theatre Classic "Our Town" NC Shakespeare Festival Suspending Operations http://wunc.org/post/nc-shakespeare-festival-suspending-operations <p>The <a href="http://www.ncshakes.org/">North Carolina Shakespeare Festival</a>, known as NCShakes, has announced that it is suspending all operations, effective immediately. NCShakes, one of High Point's main cultural attractions, has brought theater lovers to the city for 36 years.</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 17:06:14 +0000 Avery Kleinman 19999 at http://wunc.org NC Shakespeare Festival Suspending Operations The Kids In The Hall Co- Founder Teaches Comedy In Carrboro http://wunc.org/post/kids-hall-co-founder-teaches-comedy-carrboro <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The late </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">‘80s</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and early </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">‘90s</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> were a good time for funny television. The Kids In The Hall sketch comedy show took to the airwaves and amused a generation of viewers with their unique brand of sketch comedy.</span></p><p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 14:21:19 +0000 Alex Granados & Frank Stasio 17535 at http://wunc.org The Kids In The Hall Co- Founder Teaches Comedy In Carrboro A Redneck Romance http://wunc.org/post/redneck-romance <p>A stranger staggers into an East Tennessee truck stop with a tale of murder. So begins&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">the play&nbsp;</span><a href="http://triadstage.org/series/6/tennessee-playboy" style="line-height: 1.5;">Tennessee Playboy</a><a href="http://triadstage.org/series/6/tennessee-playboy" style="line-height: 1.5;">, premiering at Triad Stage</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> next week. Host Frank </span>Stasio<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> talks with Triad Stage artistic director Preston Lane about his original adaptation of </span><a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Playboy_of_the_Western_World" style="line-height: 1.5;">J.M. Synge's The Playboy of the Western World</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Plus, the cast performs a scene.</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 15:16:04 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & Frank Stasio 16691 at http://wunc.org A Redneck Romance