Arts & Culture http://wunc.org en Dinner Party During Lunch Hour http://wunc.org/post/dinner-party-during-lunch-hour <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;">Public radio gives you news, politics and entertainment. But what about advice that will make you the star of your next social gathering? </span></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:15:28 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 39552 at http://wunc.org Dinner Party During Lunch Hour Choosing To Stay 20 Feet From Stardom http://wunc.org/post/choosing-stay-20-feet-stardom <p><a href="http://lisafischermusic.com/">Lisa Fischer</a> is one of the most in-demand vocalists in the music industry, but she rarely takes center stage.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:59:41 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39546 at http://wunc.org Choosing To Stay 20 Feet From Stardom Listen: The Book Acknowledgments No One Expects http://wunc.org/post/listen-book-acknowledgments-no-one-expects <p>What would an author write on the "thank you" page of her novel if she was telling the truth? Pittsboro author Ruth Moose wrote the acknowledgments of her debut novel, <a href="http://ruthmoose.com/Ruth_Moose/DD_Buy.html">Doing It At the Dixie Dew</a>, with a candor atypical of many authors.</p><p><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/159979862&amp;color=ff5500&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false" width="100%"></iframe></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 20:08:29 +0000 Carol Jackson & Anita Rao 39488 at http://wunc.org Listen: The Book Acknowledgments No One Expects A Portrait Photographer Defies Social Norms http://wunc.org/post/portrait-photographer-defies-social-norms <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The late 19th&nbsp;century American South was marked by inequality; Jim Crow was the law of the land and racial segregation was both a social norm and a legal requirement.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:49:32 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39472 at http://wunc.org A Portrait Photographer Defies Social Norms A Bed And Breakfast Murder Mystery http://wunc.org/post/bed-and-breakfast-murder-mystery <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>When Beth McKenzie's grandmother passed away, she left behind a hefty nursing home bill and a dilapidated mansion, and it was up to Beth to figure out what to do. But luckily, she had a plan.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:36:31 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39471 at http://wunc.org A Bed And Breakfast Murder Mystery What Animals Tell Us About Love And Relationships http://wunc.org/post/what-animals-tell-us-about-love-and-relationships <div><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>After a bad end to a long-term relationship, animal behavior expert <a href="http://www.jenniferverdolin.com/">Jennifer Verdolin</a> decided to look to the animal kingdom for new insight on dating.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:59:04 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39398 at http://wunc.org What Animals Tell Us About Love And Relationships Carl Kasell Helps With Surprise Marriage Proposal http://wunc.org/post/carl-kasell-helps-surprise-marriage-proposal <p>Six months before Faith Kline met Howie Sanborn she devised a list with 126 points on it; criteria that her future husband would have to match before she said, "I do."</p><p>And then, the two saw each other across some bike racks on a cold March morning in 2012. Howie was participating in a triathlon. He thought she was cute. She remembers his twinkling eyes.</p><p>The problem was, Faith was there to watch her friend's children during the race and Howie wasn't sure - Were those Faith's kids? Was she with that other guy?</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:28:33 +0000 Carol Jackson 39334 at http://wunc.org Carl Kasell Helps With Surprise Marriage Proposal Ryan Adams Live Webcast Friday http://wunc.org/post/ryan-adams-live-webcast-friday <p></p><p>Can't be at this year's Newport Folk Festival? We'll bring some of the folk festival home to you with a special audio webcast from Ryan Adams.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:31:23 +0000 WUNC Updates 39178 at http://wunc.org Ryan Adams Live Webcast Friday Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara http://wunc.org/post/meet-jasmine-beach-ferrara <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://jbeachferrara.com/">Rev. Jasmine Beach-Ferrara</a> is an ordained minister and published author who uses her faith work and fiction writing to create new strategies for supporting LGBT communities in the South.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:33:38 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39335 at http://wunc.org Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara It's A Beautiful World http://wunc.org/post/its-beautiful-world <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-size:12pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;color:black">Musicians Duncan Webster and Leah Gibson strive to never play the same show twice. The experimental duo, formerly known as <a href="http://prypyat.bandcamp.com/">Prypyat</a>, recently embraced a new chamber pop sound along with a new name: <a href="http://beautyworld.bandcamp.com/">Beauty World</a>. </span></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:36:52 +0000 Meghan Modafferi & Frank Stasio & Charlie Shelton 39217 at http://wunc.org It's A Beautiful World