2012 Presidential Election http://wunc.org en Rouzer Asks For Recount in 7th District http://wunc.org/post/rouzer-asks-recount-7th-district <p style="line-height: 15px; margin: 0px 0px 0.75em; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, serif; font-size: 12px; font-style: normal; font-variant: normal; font-weight: normal; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: 2; text-align: start; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: 2; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-size-adjust: auto; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; background-color: rgb(162, 191, 228);">The Republican challenger to 7th District Democratic congressman Mike McIntyre has requested a recount. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 5433 at http://wunc.org Romney Wins NC, Obama Wins Election http://wunc.org/post/romney-wins-nc-obama-wins-election <p>Mitt Romney won North Carolina last night. But the 15 electoral votes that went with it did not lead to the presidency, as Barack Obama was re-elected.&nbsp; As Dave DeWitt reports, the presidential race in North Carolina came down to a slim, but significant, margin.<br> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 06:41:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4651 at http://wunc.org "Election Protection" Hotline At UNC Law http://wunc.org/post/election-protection-hotline-unc-law <p>There’s a toll-free, non-partisan election hotline available for voters with Election Day questions or problems.<br><br><strong>Leoneda Inge:&nbsp; </strong>Faculty and staff at UNC’s law school will be fielding calls as part of the national advocacy protection initiative called “Election Protection.” The number to call is – 1-866-OUR-VOTE.&nbsp; Elizabeth Haddix is senior staff attorney at the UNC Law Center for Civil Rights.&nbsp; She expects a lot of calls.<br> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 11:05:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 4137 at http://wunc.org Campaigns, Groups Spend Big On TV http://wunc.org/post/campaigns-groups-spend-big-tv <p>The campaigns for President Barack Obama and Governor Mitt Romney and the outside groups that support them spent almost $70 million on tv ads in North Carolina.<br> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 08:00:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4138 at http://wunc.org Michelle Obama Rallies Voters In Charlotte http://wunc.org/post/michelle-obama-rallies-voters-charlotte <p>First lady Michelle Obama was in Charlotte this afternoon to help get out the vote for her husband. She reminded supporters waiting in a hangar at Charlotte-Douglas International Airport that President Obama won North Carolina in 2008 by only 14 thousand votes. Mrs. Obama said that's why every vote matters.<br><br><strong>Michelle Obama:</strong> And it is all going to come down to what happens in just a few key battleground states like right here in North Carolina. Right here. When we win this state with your help and we'll be on our way.<br> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 20:45:00 +0000 Jessica Jones 4139 at http://wunc.org Clinton Campaigns In Raleigh http://wunc.org/post/clinton-campaigns-raleigh <p><strong>Eric Hodge: </strong>Former President Bill Clinton visited Raleigh on Sunday. He was here to campaign for Barack Obama in what is shaping up to be a very tight race in North Carolina.<br> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 08:15:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4142 at http://wunc.org Countdown to the Election http://wunc.org/post/countdown-election <p>Social media, early voting, polls, the financial markets, even the weather, they are all factors in next Tuesday’s election. When Americans pick a president, we also pick our congressional delegations and numerous state and local officials, but getting people to pay attention to the races happening down the ballot from the president can be tough. Guest host Isaac Davy-Aronson will talk about why with Jennifer Wig, the assistant editor at the Raleigh Public Record; and Angie Newsome, the director and editor of The Carolina Public Press.</p><p></p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 16:01:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & Nicole Campbell 4121 at http://wunc.org Campus Politics http://wunc.org/post/campus-politics <p>In 2008, it would have been difficult to go to a college campus in the United States and forget we had an election coming up. The young people brought out about 22 million votes to the election then, but will it happen again? Are people still fired up and ready to go on America’s campuses? And how connected to politics are today’s college students anyway?</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 15:50:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & Nicole Campbell 4122 at http://wunc.org Presidential Race In NC Coming Down To Wire http://wunc.org/post/presidential-race-nc-coming-down-wire <p>The Obama and Romney Campaigns continue to fight for North Carolina's 15 Electoral College votes.</p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 19:30:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4149 at http://wunc.org Is North Carolina A Swing State? http://wunc.org/post/north-carolina-swing-state <p>In 2008, Barack Obama won North Carolina, marking the first time the state went for the Democratic candidate in over 30 years. In fact, in the previous couple of elections, Republicans won with solid victories. George W Bush had double digit leads over Al Gore and John Kerry. So what happened in 2008, and can it be repeated? Thu, 01 Nov 2012 18:12:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & Shawn Wen 4125 at http://wunc.org