Paul Ryan http://wunc.org en NC Delegates Wrap Up Week In Tampa http://wunc.org/post/nc-delegates-wrap-week-tampa <p>North Carolina's delegates to the Republican National Convention are headed home, after their big week in Tampa. Delegate John Steward from Union County joined thousands of fellow party members at Mitt Romney's nomination acceptance speech last night. He says he likes that Romney is not backing away from cutting federal spending.<br><br>John Steward says, "I really liked the fact they're not backing off the Medicaid and Medicare - the only way to save it is to reform it and they're not backing off of that."<br> Fri, 31 Aug 2012 15:20:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & NPR StateImpact Florida 1771 at http://wunc.org NC Delegates Await Romney's Big Speech At RNC http://wunc.org/post/nc-delegates-await-romneys-big-speech-rnc <p>In Tampa, Republicans are eagerly awaiting Mitt Romney's big speech tonight. Attendees at the Republican National Convention were enthused by Vice Presidential nominee Paul Ryan's speech last night and North Carolina's delegates were no exception. Helen Eckman from Beaufort County says she likes Ryan's promise that if he and Mitt Romney are elected, they'll limit federal spending.&nbsp; She wants Romney to adopt much of the budget Ryan proposed in the U.S. House.<br> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 13:15:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 1780 at http://wunc.org GOP's Paul Ryan Stumps In Raleigh http://wunc.org/post/gops-paul-ryan-stumps-raleigh <p>Congressman Paul Ryan is back in North Carolina this week. Today he’s scheduled to take part in a defense industry round-table discussion in Fayetteville.&nbsp; But yesterday in Raleigh – it was all about raising money and rallying the troops.<br> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Leoneda Inge 1826 at http://wunc.org GOP VP Candidate Paul Ryan Visits Raleigh http://wunc.org/post/gop-vp-candidate-paul-ryan-visits-raleigh <p>Republican vice-presidential candidate Paul Ryan spoke at a campaign rally in Raleigh today. The Wisconsin congressman's appearance marks his second visit to North Carolina since being named Mitt Romney's running mate. He met supporters at a sheet metal design company that he toured shortly before taking the stage. Ryan continued delivering the message of what the G-O-P says is the president's failed plans to create jobs. He used North Carolina as the example.<br> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 20:35:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 1832 at http://wunc.org Romney, Biden In NC http://wunc.org/post/romney-biden-nc <p>The race for President is ratcheting up in North Carolina, as both campaigns are making the state a central focus.</p><p><strong><span style="font-weight: bold;">Dave DeWitt</span>:</strong> In 2008, the presidential race in North Carolina came down to 4-tenths of a percentage point. The race in 2012 looks like it could be just as close, and both candidates are likely to spend a lot of time here in the next few months.</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 08:45:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 1926 at http://wunc.org GOP Star Paul Ryan Courts Triangle Voters http://wunc.org/post/gop-star-paul-ryan-courts-triangle-voters <p>North Carolina is battleground territory in this year's presidential election. And so both parties are sending in the political heavyweights.<br> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 10:05:00 +0000 Asma Khalid 2361 at http://wunc.org GOP Star Paul Ryan Courts Triangle Voters