Mitt Romney http://wunc.org en Romney Wins NC, Obama Wins Election http://wunc.org/post/romney-wins-nc-obama-wins-election <p>Mitt Romney won North Carolina last night. But the 15 electoral votes that went with it did not lead to the presidency, as Barack Obama was re-elected.&nbsp; As Dave DeWitt reports, the presidential race in North Carolina came down to a slim, but significant, margin.<br> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 06:41:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4651 at http://wunc.org Presidential Race In NC Coming Down To Wire http://wunc.org/post/presidential-race-nc-coming-down-wire <p>The Obama and Romney Campaigns continue to fight for North Carolina's 15 Electoral College votes.</p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 19:30:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4149 at http://wunc.org Presidential Ground Game Could Be Key In NC http://wunc.org/post/presidential-ground-game-could-be-key-nc <p>It’s one week until election day. Candidates for offices at all levels are crisscrossing the state, looking for any last stray votes they can find.&nbsp;&nbsp; But the two major-party candidates for President, Barack Obama and Mitt Romney, are not, as of now, scheduled to appear in North Carolina before next Tuesday.&nbsp; However, that doesn’t mean their campaigns in the state are slowing down.<br> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 10:05:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 4166 at http://wunc.org McCain, Price Stump For Presidential Candidates http://wunc.org/post/mccain-price-stump-presidential-candidates <p>Some members of Congress were in the Triangle today to back their candidates for President.<br><br><strong>Gurnal Scott:</strong> 2008 GOP nominee John McCain came to a Cary VFW post to ask veterans to vote for Mitt Romney. He said his worries about President Barack Obama began the night Mr. Obama beat him four years ago.<br><br><strong>John McCain: </strong>I was concerned about obviously national security. We always are. But I wasn't as concerned as I am today. America is not leading. We are beset by enemies on all sides.<br> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 21:30:00 +0000 Gurnal Scott 2412 at http://wunc.org NC Delegates Wrap Up Week In Tampa http://wunc.org/post/nc-delegates-wrap-week-tampa <p>North Carolina's delegates to the Republican National Convention are headed home, after their big week in Tampa. Delegate John Steward from Union County joined thousands of fellow party members at Mitt Romney's nomination acceptance speech last night. He says he likes that Romney is not backing away from cutting federal spending.<br><br>John Steward says, "I really liked the fact they're not backing off the Medicaid and Medicare - the only way to save it is to reform it and they're not backing off of that."<br> Fri, 31 Aug 2012 15:20:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson & NPR StateImpact Florida 1771 at http://wunc.org NC Delegates Await Romney's Big Speech At RNC http://wunc.org/post/nc-delegates-await-romneys-big-speech-rnc <p>In Tampa, Republicans are eagerly awaiting Mitt Romney's big speech tonight. Attendees at the Republican National Convention were enthused by Vice Presidential nominee Paul Ryan's speech last night and North Carolina's delegates were no exception. Helen Eckman from Beaufort County says she likes Ryan's promise that if he and Mitt Romney are elected, they'll limit federal spending.&nbsp; She wants Romney to adopt much of the budget Ryan proposed in the U.S. House.<br> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 13:15:00 +0000 Isaac-Davy Aronson 1780 at http://wunc.org Romney, Biden In NC http://wunc.org/post/romney-biden-nc <p>The race for President is ratcheting up in North Carolina, as both campaigns are making the state a central focus.</p><p><strong><span style="font-weight: bold;">Dave DeWitt</span>:</strong> In 2008, the presidential race in North Carolina came down to 4-tenths of a percentage point. The race in 2012 looks like it could be just as close, and both candidates are likely to spend a lot of time here in the next few months.</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 08:45:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt 1926 at http://wunc.org GOP Star Paul Ryan Courts Triangle Voters http://wunc.org/post/gop-star-paul-ryan-courts-triangle-voters <p>North Carolina is battleground territory in this year's presidential election. And so both parties are sending in the political heavyweights.<br> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 10:05:00 +0000 Asma Khalid 2361 at http://wunc.org GOP Star Paul Ryan Courts Triangle Voters Presidential Campaigns Saturate Triangle Airwaves http://wunc.org/post/presidential-campaigns-saturate-triangle-airwaves <p>The findings of a new analysis are no surprise to anyone who's flipped on the TV recently, the Obama and Romney campaigns are saturating local airwaves. Three of the country's top ten political advertising markets are in North Carolina.<br><br><strong>Asma Khalid: </strong>Analysis from NBC News/SMG-Delta shows the presidential campaigns are spending a lot of money in Raleigh Durham, it's the number five market in the country for the concentration of political ads. Dominico Montanaro is deputy political editor at NBC News.<br> Thu, 31 May 2012 13:45:00 +0000 Asma Khalid 2401 at http://wunc.org