Politics & Government http://wunc.org en NC Senate Committe Relaxes Restrictions On Proposed County Tax Legislation http://wunc.org/post/nc-senate-committe-relaxes-restrictions-proposed-county-tax-legislation <p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:23:55 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39370 at http://wunc.org NC Senate Committe Relaxes Restrictions On Proposed County Tax Legislation NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, July 21 http://wunc.org/post/nc-general-assembly-stories-we-re-following-week-monday-july-21 <p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:01:54 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39245 at http://wunc.org NC General Assembly Stories We’re Following: Week Of Monday, July 21 Rep. Jim Fulghum Of Wake County Dies http://wunc.org/post/rep-jim-fulghum-wake-county-dies <p>Wake County state representative&nbsp;Jim Fulghum&nbsp;who was undergoing treatment for cancer has died. &nbsp;House Speaker Thom Tillis confirmed Fulghum's passing in a statement on the speaker's website. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 16:13:23 +0000 Gurnal Scott 39305 at http://wunc.org Rep. Jim Fulghum Of Wake County Dies U.S. Senator Kay Hagan Criticizes State Legislature http://wunc.org/post/us-senator-kay-hagan-criticizes-state-legislature <p></p><p>Democratic U.S. Senator Kay Hagan was in Raleigh Friday afternoon to discuss a bill she and others have introduced in the U.S. Senate that seeks to restore womens' access to employer-covered contraception. The bill was defeated this week but Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid says he plans to bring it up later this year.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:51:09 +0000 Jessica Jones 39228 at http://wunc.org U.S. Senator Kay Hagan Criticizes State Legislature Politics and Polling with Ken Rudin http://wunc.org/post/politics-and-polling-ken-rudin <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>Former Baptist minister Mark Walker defeated Phil Berger Jr. in a runoff election for the 6<sup>th</sup> district Republican primary this week.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:56:43 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39218 at http://wunc.org Politics and Polling with Ken Rudin Senate Measure Overhauling Medicaid Headed For A Vote http://wunc.org/post/senate-measure-overhauling-medicaid-headed-vote <p>A measure put forth by the state Senate to overhaul North Carolina's Medicaid program is headed for a vote in the chamber next week.</p><p>The proposal would allow both provider-led and managed care plans to serve patients who qualify for the health insurance program.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:49:24 +0000 Jessica Jones 39161 at http://wunc.org Senate Measure Overhauling Medicaid Headed For A Vote Public Will Be Able To Comment On NC’s Fracking Rules At Hearings In Raleigh, Sanford and Reidsville http://wunc.org/post/public-will-be-able-comment-nc-s-fracking-rules-hearings-raleigh-sanford-and-reidsville <p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:47:50 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39188 at http://wunc.org Public Will Be Able To Comment On NC’s Fracking Rules At Hearings In Raleigh, Sanford and Reidsville Lawmakers Move Toward Compromises For Medicaid And Teacher Pay http://wunc.org/post/lawmakers-move-toward-compromises-medicaid-and-teacher-pay <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13px;">Despite sluggish negotiations over the past two weeks, state lawmakers are taking small steps toward a budget deal.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 10pt;">The House and Senate are working on compromises for teacher raises and Medicaid spending. They are also considering ways to reform the Medicaid system, including treatment from managed care organizations.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:55:41 +0000 Will Michaels & Frank Stasio 39146 at http://wunc.org Lawmakers Move Toward Compromises For Medicaid And Teacher Pay Runoff Voters Get More "Bang For Their Buck" http://wunc.org/post/runoff-voters-get-more-bang-their-buck <p></p><p>Voters in 37 counties headed to the polls Tuesday to vote in second-primary – or runoff – elections. In North Carolina, a second primary is necessary when no candidate claims more than 40-percent of the first primary votes.</p><p>Joshua Lawson of the State Board of Elections said a bit more than 6 percent of eligible voters turned out. He says that's actually not bad for a runoff.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:04:14 +0000 Rebecca Martinez 39137 at http://wunc.org Runoff Voters Get More "Bang For Their Buck" Police In NC Could Start Tracking License Plates On State Highways http://wunc.org/post/police-nc-could-start-tracking-license-plates-state-highways <p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:28:08 +0000 Jorge Valencia 39123 at http://wunc.org Police In NC Could Start Tracking License Plates On State Highways