Ann Powers http://wunc.org en The Hits Of Yesterday And Today http://wunc.org/post/hits-yesterday-and-today <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=450p7goxZqg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFEmTsfFL5A</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93ASUImTedo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIh2xe4jnpk</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:33:00 +0000 Ann Powers 38357 at http://wunc.org The Hits Of Yesterday And Today Why Tori Amos Connects http://wunc.org/post/why-tori-amos-connects When I spent time on tour with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182176/tori-amos" target="_blank">Tori Amos</a> a decade ago, collaborating with her <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Tori-Amos-Piece/dp/076791676X" target="_blank">on a book</a>, I'd see her invoke <a href="http://www.umich.edu/~umfandsf/symbolismproject/symbolism.html/F/fourelem.html" target="_blank">the four elements</a> many nights before her band would take the stage. Tue, 13 May 2014 15:39:00 +0000 Ann Powers 35409 at http://wunc.org Why Tori Amos Connects Is It Worth It To Work It? http://wunc.org/post/it-worth-it-work-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zR6ROjoOX0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0CazRHB0so</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWo7SC-tG4U</p> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:42:00 +0000 Ann Powers 35151 at http://wunc.org Is It Worth It To Work It? God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music http://wunc.org/post/god-drugs-and-lizard-aliens-yep-its-country-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWx6csgGkg4</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:07:00 +0000 Ann Powers 33963 at http://wunc.org God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music Why We Fight About Pop Music http://wunc.org/post/why-we-fight-about-pop-music In 2007, the Canadian music critic Carl Wilson published a book-length experiment in extreme aesthetic sport: a sincere and shockingly comprehensive study of music he had already decided he hated. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 14:41:00 +0000 Ann Powers 33842 at http://wunc.org Why We Fight About Pop Music Make Peace With Pop: 6 Songs That Prove Pop Gets Along With Everyone http://wunc.org/post/make-peace-pop-six-songs-prove-pop-gets-along-everyone <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShSDMPlX8No</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou5T1SeGhOo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBr5FPIL8UU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtATrfNQJLU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzoazPPC7b8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36mCEZzzQ3o</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Ann Powers 33278 at http://wunc.org Lady Gaga At SXSW: 'Don't Sell Out. Sell In.' http://wunc.org/post/lady-gaga-sxsw-dont-sell-out-sell <em>On Friday, March 14, Lady Gaga gave the keynote at SXSW 2014, a long interview conducted by John Norris that covered her career in pop, from her roots in the rock clubs of downtown New York to her decision to partner with a corporate sponsor for the concert she performed at Stubb's the night before. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 15:48:00 +0000 Ann Powers 32133 at http://wunc.org Lady Gaga At SXSW: 'Don't Sell Out. Sell In.' The Guide To Making SXSW Fun (For Everybody) http://wunc.org/post/guide-making-sxsw-fun-everybody The last thing anyone would say about South By Southwest is that it's an avenue for self-improvement. The annual mega gathering, which began last week for film and interactive-technology mavens and turns into a music conference and festival tomorrow, fulfills many needs for the culture nerd. Communal bonding? Yes – somewhere around 100,000 people will wander the Austin streets looking to high-five each other during this time. Fun? For sure. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 15:56:00 +0000 Ann Powers 31794 at http://wunc.org The Guide To Making SXSW Fun (For Everybody) Listening In Reel Life: The Pop Music Inside The Oscar Nominees http://wunc.org/post/listening-reel-life-pop-music-inside-oscar-nominees The most romantic scene from any of this year's Oscar-nominated films begins with a deliciously idiosyncratic pickup line. At a swinger's pool party in 1978, a flabby yet still somehow alluring Christian Bale gently grabs the arm of Sydney Prosser, played by Amy Adams at her most wide-eyed and guileful. "Is that <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15396582/duke-ellington" target="_blank">Duke Ellington</a> on your bracelet?" he murmurs. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 13:03:00 +0000 Ann Powers 31363 at http://wunc.org Listening In Reel Life: The Pop Music Inside The Oscar Nominees Hearing Devotion In Pop's Details http://wunc.org/post/hearing-devotion-pops-details <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktvTqknDobU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hT_nvWreIhg</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 08:39:00 +0000 Ann Powers 30910 at http://wunc.org Hearing Devotion In Pop's Details