Jeremy Loeb http://wunc.org en Best of 2011 from Back Porch Music http://wunc.org/post/best-2011-back-porch-music <p>As 2011 winds down, Morning Edition host Eric Hodge speaks with Freddy Jenkins and Keith Weston of Back Porch Music about some of their favorite folk and acoustic music of the year.</p><p>Keith chose <span style="font-weight: bold;">Sarah Jarosz</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold;">New Found Road Live</span>.</p><p>Freddy picked <span style="font-weight: bold;">Alison Krauss</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold;">Gillian Welch</span>.</p><p>We also lost a number of artists this year</p><p>Here's some of note:</p> Fri, 30 Dec 2011 14:29:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7043 at http://wunc.org Asheville Restaurants Go Green http://wunc.org/post/asheville-restaurants-go-green <p></p><p>Asheville is known as a sort of local food-haven. Now it's leading the way in an effort to reduce the environmental impacts of restaurants. The <a href="http://www.airasheville.org/pages/about-us" target="_blank">Asheville Independent Restaurant Association</a> is using a $258,000 grant from the North Carolina Green Business Fund to make upgrades in 18 Asheville restaurants. Thu, 29 Dec 2011 19:10:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7041 at http://wunc.org Asheville Restaurants Go Green Kwanzaa Celebration in Cary http://wunc.org/post/kwanzaa-celebration-cary <p></p><p>Kwanzaa is underway and the Town of Cary will observe the holiday with a <a href="http://www.townofcary.org/Departments/Parks__Recreation___Cultural_Resources/events/holiday/kwanzaa.htm" target="_blank">celebration</a> Thursday. Kwanzaa is held each year from December 26th through January 1st in honor of African-American culture and heritage. Wed, 28 Dec 2011 19:15:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7055 at http://wunc.org Kwanzaa Celebration in Cary Climate Change Forcing Tropical Bird Migration http://wunc.org/post/climate-change-forcing-tropical-bird-migration <p></p><p>A new <a href="http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0028535" target="_blank">study</a> out of Duke University finds global warming is forcing tropical birds in Peru to migrate to higher elevations. But it also finds they're migrating at a slower rate than the world is warming. Tue, 27 Dec 2011 18:10:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7056 at http://wunc.org Climate Change Forcing Tropical Bird Migration Scientists Using Web Donations to Fund Projects http://wunc.org/post/scientists-using-web-donations-fund-projects <p></p><p></p><p>Scientists are used to relying on grants for funding, and that's not likely to change anytime soon. But a recent trend called "crowd-sourcing" could help small projects get underway. It's basically a kick starter campaign where the general public gives online donations for scientists' research. North Carolina State chemistry professor Walter Weare was able to pay for new equipment for his solar energy research using the method.</p> Fri, 23 Dec 2011 10:00:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7067 at http://wunc.org Scientists Using Web Donations to Fund Projects Read Two Million Books in a Year? Bring it on! http://wunc.org/post/read-two-million-books-year-bring-it <p></p><p>Students in Guilford County Schools have a few weeks left to surpass a goal of collectively reading two million books in a year. Wed, 21 Dec 2011 15:43:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7075 at http://wunc.org Read Two Million Books in a Year? Bring it on! Cooper Announces Medicaid Fraud Busts http://wunc.org/post/cooper-announces-medicaid-fraud-busts <p></p><p>North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper announced today what he calls the "first wave" of ramped up efforts to fight Medicaid fraud in the state. Cooper says 18 people in 10 counties have been arrested in the past week. He says the total monetary loss to the Medicaid program from these cases is more than half a million dollars. Mon, 19 Dec 2011 21:35:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7080 at http://wunc.org Cooper Announces Medicaid Fraud Busts UNC Names Larry Fedora Head Football Coach http://wunc.org/post/unc-names-larry-fedora-head-football-coach <p></p><p>The University of North Carolina Chapel Hill introduced its new head football coach today. Larry Fedora signed a seven-year contract with the school worth $1.7 million per season. UNC fired coach Butch Davis at the start of this season. Fri, 09 Dec 2011 22:10:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7127 at http://wunc.org UNC Names Larry Fedora Head Football Coach Smithfield Ending Controversial Hog Crates http://wunc.org/post/smithfield-ending-controversial-hog-crates <p></p><p>Animal rights advocates are welcoming news that Smithfield Foods is on track to phase out the use of small metal crates for pregnant hogs. The company said in a statement it will end the practice by 2017. The non-profit Humane Society filed a federal complaint against Smithfield a month ago. Thu, 08 Dec 2011 22:35:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7130 at http://wunc.org Smithfield Ending Controversial Hog Crates Big Weekend for Outgoing Mayor http://wunc.org/post/big-weekend-outgoing-mayor <p></p><p>Outgoing Raleigh Mayor Charles Meeker is on somewhat of a farewell tour today. First off is the Human Relation Commission's "Unity Day" at the Convention Center this morning. One big issue they'll be discussing is the proposed constitutional amendment that would ban gay marriage and domestic unions in the state. Meeker doesn't mince words about that. Fri, 02 Dec 2011 23:55:00 +0000 Jeremy Loeb 7147 at http://wunc.org Big Weekend for Outgoing Mayor