Linda Wertheimer http://wunc.org en Filmmaker Searches For 'White Widow' Of London Bombing http://wunc.org/post/filmmaker-searches-white-widow-london-bombing Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>On July 7, 2005 - nine years ago tomorrow - a series of explosions in central London killed 52 people and injured over 700 others. One of the bombers, Germaine Lindsay, was married to Samantha Lewthwaite, a white, working-class girl from southern England. They had both converted to Islam. Lewthwaite denounced her husband's actions after the attacks, but then her life took another mysterious turn. She left England in 2008 and moved to South Africa and from there, to Kenya.<p>According to intelligence reports, she is now involved in terrorist activities. Sun, 06 Jul 2014 11:55:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 38488 at http://wunc.org Game Developers Conference: Not Your Typical Tech Convention http://wunc.org/post/game-developers-conference-not-your-typical-tech-convention Brian Crecente, who is covering the Game Developers Conference this week for the video game website Polygon, talks about the latest trends in the industry. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 11:53:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 32449 at http://wunc.org 'Wheel Of Fortune' Player Cashes In With N And E http://wunc.org/post/wheel-fortune-player-cashes-n-and-e A Wheel of Fortune contestant guessed a 12-letter phrase in the bonus round Wednesday night with only two letters revealed — and he won $45,000. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:43:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 32443 at http://wunc.org A Cronut By Any Other Name Is Still A Cronut http://wunc.org/post/cronut-any-other-name-still-cronut Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Linda Wertheimer. Little Big's Bakery in South Portland, Maine worked up its version of the cronut, the croissant-donut hybrid. The Mainers tried to stand out, spelling theirs C-R-A-U-X-nut. But the original New York baker sent a letter saying he has trademarked the cronut name, no matter how you spell it. So Little Big's took another stab at it. Now they call their popular pastry C-and-Ds - standing for cease and desist. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:43:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 32444 at http://wunc.org U.N. Report: All Sides Committing Atrocities In Syria http://wunc.org/post/un-report-all-sides-committing-atrocities-syria U.N. investigators are gathering the names of people they suspect of war crimes in Syria. In their latest report, they say all sides in the conflict are committing atrocities against civilians. We hear from Karen Abuzayd, who is with the U.N. Commission of Inquiry on Syria. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 32438 at http://wunc.org Intercepted Al-Qaida Communication Prompts Warnings http://wunc.org/post/intercepted-al-qaida-communication-prompts-warnings Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. Today the State Department advised all U.S. citizens to leave Yemen because of extremely high danger for Americans there. The U.S. Air Force has flown some State Department personnel out of the capital, Sana'a. In all, 19 U.S. embassies and consulates remain closed across the Middle East and Africa because of a security threat. We're hearing more about what is causing all the concern. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 10:06:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 20256 at http://wunc.org Ex-Rep. Lindy Boggs: Advocate For Women, Dedicated To Family http://wunc.org/post/ex-rep-lindy-boggs-advocate-women-dedicated-family Lindy Boggs died Saturday morning. She was 97 years old, had served in Congress for close to 20 years and also as the U.S. ambassador to the Vatican, appointed by President Bill Clinton.<p>But those achievements, great as they are, do not begin to sum up the life and accomplishments of Lindy Boggs. As many of you know, she is part of our family at NPR: Her daughter is <a href="http://www.npr.org/people/2101090/cokie-roberts">Cokie Roberts</a>. And she has many friends here, as she does everywhere.<p>Lindy was born in the spring of 1916. Sat, 27 Jul 2013 17:01:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 19741 at http://wunc.org Ex-Rep. Lindy Boggs: Advocate For Women, Dedicated To Family Rotenberg's Toronto Thrillers Mix Canadian Courtesy With Murder http://wunc.org/post/rotenbergs-toronto-thrillers-mix-canadian-courtesy-murder Robert Rotenberg has written four legal thrillers set in Toronto, that old industrial city on the shores of Lake Ontario. He's a criminal lawyer — all his books are centered on trials — and he loves his city so much that he makes multicultural Toronto a character in his books. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 18161 at http://wunc.org Rotenberg's Toronto Thrillers Mix Canadian Courtesy With Murder Feds Buckle On Emergency Contraception Age Restrictions http://wunc.org/post/feds-buckle-emergency-contraception-age-restrictions Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. The morning after pill is moving from behind the counter to on the shelf. Last night, the Obama administration announced it will comply with a court order that allows girls and women of any age to buy the emergency contraception without a prescription and without showing ID.<p>This decision is a sharp reversal for the administration and signals the end of a legal battle that spanned more than 12 years. Tue, 11 Jun 2013 09:23:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 16972 at http://wunc.org Intelligence Community Mines Phone Records, Internet Data http://wunc.org/post/intelligence-community-mines-phone-records-internet-data Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 10:09:00 +0000 Linda Wertheimer 16750 at http://wunc.org