Morning Edition http://wunc.org en 'How To Survive The Bulls' Co-Author Gets Gored http://wunc.org/post/how-survive-bulls-co-author-gets-gored On Wednesday, Bill Hillmann, one of the authors of Fiesta: How to Survive the Bulls of Pamplona, was reportedly gored in the leg. His injuries were not life threatening. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:15:00 +0000 editor 38792 at http://wunc.org New York City Considers Licensing Costumed Peformers http://wunc.org/post/new-york-city-considers-licensing-costumed-peformers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. New York City is considering a crackdown on Superman. Lawmakers say too many people dress like the man of steel or like Batman. Superheroes or "Sesame Street" characters offer to pose for pictures tourists in Times Square - problem is, many then demand money from the tourists, and in one case, Elmo launched into an anti-Semitic tirade - not good. The proposal under consideration would require costume performers to be licensed. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:07:00 +0000 editor 38793 at http://wunc.org Gaza Residents Deal With Fourth Night Of Israeli Air Strikes http://wunc.org/post/gaza-residents-deal-fourth-night-israeli-air-strikes Steve Inskeep talks to Palestinian-American business consultant and political commentator Sami Abdel-Shafi about living in Gaza while under attack from Israel. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:02:00 +0000 editor 38794 at http://wunc.org Germany Asks Top CIA Spy In Country To Leave http://wunc.org/post/germany-asks-top-cia-spy-country-leave The move comes after German investigators discovered a second citizen suspected of spying for the U.S. Renee Montagne talks to James Bamford, who writes about U.N. intelligence agencies and the NSA. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 38787 at http://wunc.org NSA Implementing Fix To Prevent Snowden-Like Security Breach http://wunc.org/post/nsa-implementing-fix-prevent-snowden-security-breach A year after Edward Snowden's digital heist, the NSA's chief technology officer says steps have been taken to stop future incidents. But he says there's no way for the NSA to be entirely secure. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 38788 at http://wunc.org Ukrainian Army Takes Back Areas From Pro-Russian Separatists http://wunc.org/post/ukrainian-army-takes-back-many-areas-pro-russian-separatists Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Just weeks ago, it looked like Russia might extend its control of the Ukrainian region of Crimea to other areas of Ukraine. But now the Ukrainian Army has pushed out pro-Russian separatists from most of the cities and towns the rebels had seized. And the Kremlin, once so vocal, has gone quiet.<p>For a look at the turnaround, we reached Professor Stephen Sestanovich. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 38789 at http://wunc.org Hottest Burger In Britain Burns 2 Journalists http://wunc.org/post/last-word-business-127 Two journalists from a newspaper in Brighton, England, went to the hospital after sampling the Hot Chili Burger. The heat is in the sauce, which is rated about 3,000 times hotter than Tabasco sauce. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 38790 at http://wunc.org HBO Scores Big In Emmy Nominations http://wunc.org/post/hbo-scores-big-emmy-nominations David Greene talks to TV Guide magazine executive editor Michael Schneider about Thursday's announcement of the 66th Emmy Award nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 38745 at http://wunc.org Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://wunc.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. Selling American whiskey is all about marketing. You can buy bottles with scenes of prohibition or that evoke the old West, and you may someday see a bottle featuring the image of John Wayne. The actor was known as the duke, and his heirs wants to call their product Duke Bourbon. The only problem is an objection from Duke University - no relation. The school has raised a legal challenge, contending the whiskey would tarnish the Duke name. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 38731 at http://wunc.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://wunc.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder The popular dating app Tinder has a new user: Edward Snowden. Actually, just the username Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA leaker looking for love from Moscow. It was the brainchild of <a href="http://vimeo.com/rosscohen" target="_blank">Ross Cohen</a>, a writer and director in Los Angeles. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:13:00 +0000 editor 38728 at http://wunc.org