Anita Rao http://wunc.org en LISTEN: Grammy Winner Lisa Fischer Sings "Breath of Heaven" Live http://wunc.org/post/listen-grammy-winner-lisa-fischer-sings-breath-heaven-live <p>Lisa Fischer has made a career singing backup vocals for artists from Mick Jagger and Luther Vandross to Dolly Parton and the Nine Inch Nails. She sang this solo rendition of "Breath of Heaven" live on The State of Things:</p><p><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/160244394&amp;color=ff5500&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false" width="100%"></iframe></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:28:00 +0000 Carol Jackson, Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39607 at http://wunc.org LISTEN: Grammy Winner Lisa Fischer Sings "Breath of Heaven" Live Choosing To Stay 20 Feet From Stardom http://wunc.org/post/choosing-stay-20-feet-stardom <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://lisafischermusic.com/">Lisa Fischer</a> is one of the most in-demand vocalists in the music industry, but she rarely takes center stage.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:59:41 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39546 at http://wunc.org Choosing To Stay 20 Feet From Stardom Listen: The Book Acknowledgments No One Expects http://wunc.org/post/listen-book-acknowledgments-no-one-expects <p>What would an author write on the "thank you" page of her novel if she was telling the truth? Pittsboro author Ruth Moose wrote the acknowledgments of her debut novel, <a href="http://ruthmoose.com/Ruth_Moose/DD_Buy.html">Doing It At the Dixie Dew</a>, with a candor atypical of many authors.</p><p><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/159979862&amp;color=ff5500&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false" width="100%"></iframe></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 20:08:29 +0000 Carol Jackson & Anita Rao 39488 at http://wunc.org Listen: The Book Acknowledgments No One Expects A Portrait Photographer Defies Social Norms http://wunc.org/post/portrait-photographer-defies-social-norms <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The late 19th&nbsp;century American South was marked by inequality; Jim Crow was the law of the land and racial segregation was both a social norm and a legal requirement.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:49:32 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39472 at http://wunc.org A Portrait Photographer Defies Social Norms A Bed And Breakfast Murder Mystery http://wunc.org/post/bed-and-breakfast-murder-mystery <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>When Beth McKenzie's grandmother passed away, she left behind a hefty nursing home bill and a dilapidated mansion, and it was up to Beth to figure out what to do. But luckily, she had a plan.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:36:31 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39471 at http://wunc.org A Bed And Breakfast Murder Mystery What Animals Tell Us About Love And Relationships http://wunc.org/post/what-animals-tell-us-about-love-and-relationships <div><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>After a bad end to a long-term relationship, animal behavior expert <a href="http://www.jenniferverdolin.com/">Jennifer Verdolin</a> decided to look to the animal kingdom for new insight on dating.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:59:04 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39398 at http://wunc.org What Animals Tell Us About Love And Relationships Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara http://wunc.org/post/meet-jasmine-beach-ferrara <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://jbeachferrara.com/">Rev. Jasmine Beach-Ferrara</a> is an ordained minister and published author who uses her faith work and fiction writing to create new strategies for supporting LGBT communities in the South.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:33:38 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39335 at http://wunc.org Meet Jasmine Beach-Ferrara Politics and Polling with Ken Rudin http://wunc.org/post/politics-and-polling-ken-rudin <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>Former Baptist minister Mark Walker defeated Phil Berger Jr. in a runoff election for the 6<sup>th</sup> district Republican primary this week.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:56:43 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39218 at http://wunc.org Politics and Polling with Ken Rudin Changing Industries in North Carolina http://wunc.org/post/changing-industries-north-carolina <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Reynolds American and Lorillard, two of the country’s biggest tobacco producers, announced a merger yesterday that is expected to reshape the tobacco industry.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:49:39 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 39089 at http://wunc.org Changing Industries in North Carolina How The World Cup Moves Stock Prices http://wunc.org/post/how-world-cup-moves-stock-prices <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As the 2014 World Cup draws to a close, all eyes are on Brazil. <a href="http://faculty.london.edu/aedmans/SteelJF.pdf">Historical data</a> shows the effects of this tournament may go far beyond the walls of the stadium.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:33:48 +0000 Anita Rao & Frank Stasio 38711 at http://wunc.org How The World Cup Moves Stock Prices