Shawn Wen http://wunc.org en What Could Have Entered The Public Domain? http://wunc.org/post/what-could-have-entered-public-domain <p><span style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 15px; line-height: normal;">In the public domain, work can be freely shared online, translated into other languages, or republished and cheaply distributed.&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 17:37:42 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 29633 at http://wunc.org What Could Have Entered The Public Domain? Mount Moriah’s Heather McEntire On 3 Musicians She's Loving Right Now http://wunc.org/post/mount-moriah-s-heather-mcentire-3-musicians-shes-loving-right-now <p></p><p></p><p>You may know <a href="http://hcmcentire.tumblr.com/">Heather McEntire</a> as the vocalist and guitar player of <a href="http://www.mountmoriahband.com/">Mount Moriah</a>.&nbsp; The beloved band has released two albums and toured nationally, but they call the Triangle their home.</p> Sun, 19 Jan 2014 13:00:52 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 29100 at http://wunc.org Mount Moriah’s Heather McEntire On 3 Musicians She's Loving Right Now Adding A Dash Of Synthesizer To Rock And Roll http://wunc.org/post/adding-dash-synthesizer-rock-and-roll <p></p><p>David Mueller is well known for playing bass in <a href="http://birdsofavalon.com/">Birds of Avalon,</a> a band which has been signed on a big label and toured internationally. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 18:00:00 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27777 at http://wunc.org Adding A Dash Of Synthesizer To Rock And Roll To The People, Food Is Heaven http://wunc.org/post/people-food-heaven-0 <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">Audra Ang worked as a foreign correspondent for the AP in Beijing, China for seven years.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 18:20:00 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27687 at http://wunc.org To The People, Food Is Heaven The Kids Are Alright. In Fact, They're Knitting and Baking Bread! http://wunc.org/post/kids-are-alright-fact-theyre-knitting-and-baking-bread-0 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">What’s going on with the youth these days? &nbsp;Some are getting into knitting sweaters. Others are tending to backyard chicken coops. They are cheesemaking, canning, beekeeping and growing their own vegetables. These labor-intensive homemaking projects may be more than a trend towards rustic pleasures.</span></p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 18:10:00 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27684 at http://wunc.org The Kids Are Alright. In Fact, They're Knitting and Baking Bread! The Evolution Of The Music Of Branford Marsalis http://wunc.org/post/evolution-music-branford-marsalis-0 <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">Grammy-award winning artist&nbsp;<a href="http://www.branfordmarsalis.com/" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(12, 76, 162);">Branford Marsalis</a>&nbsp;is one of the world’s leading jazz artists.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27685 at http://wunc.org The Evolution Of The Music Of Branford Marsalis Bringing A Langston Hughes Classic From Stage To Screen http://wunc.org/post/bringing-langston-hughes-classic-stage-screen <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p>Originally a play by poet Langston Hughes, <em>Black Nativity</em> makes its big screen debut.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27776 at http://wunc.org Bringing A Langston Hughes Classic From Stage To Screen Contaminated Water At Camp Lejeune Linked To Birth Defects http://wunc.org/post/contaminated-water-camp-lejeune-linked-birth-defects <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p><a href="http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/sites/lejeune/update.html">A new study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention</a> found that babies born to mothers who drank contaminated tap water at Camp Lejeune while pregnant had elevated risks of childhood cancers and serious birth defects. &nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 17:07:57 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27281 at http://wunc.org Contaminated Water At Camp Lejeune Linked To Birth Defects Big Decisions Are Best Made With Hot Dogs http://wunc.org/post/big-decisions-are-best-made-hot-dogs <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>Joe Hudson's weekly column in the&nbsp;<em><a href="http://www.statesville.com/">Statesville Record &amp; Landmark</a></em>&nbsp;entertains readers with its stories about family, friendship, and Southern culture. &nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 17:01:04 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27274 at http://wunc.org Big Decisions Are Best Made With Hot Dogs The Clock Ticks On The Farm Bill http://wunc.org/post/clock-ticks-farm-bill <p></p><p>Lawmakers are in negotiation for a five-year farm bill.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 15:58:43 +0000 Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 27136 at http://wunc.org The Clock Ticks On The Farm Bill