Eric Deggans http://wunc.org en New Amazon Series Pilots Fall Short Of A TV Revolution http://wunc.org/post/new-amazon-series-pilots-fall-short-tv-revolution <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phyEY_mBea4</p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 41457 at http://wunc.org New Amazon Series Pilots Fall Short Of A TV Revolution Emmy Awards 2014: Safe Choices In A Time Of Groundbreaking TV http://wunc.org/post/emmy-awards-2014-safe-choices-time-groundbreaking-tv <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q86u0bDE17w</p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 23:08:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 41342 at http://wunc.org TV's New Doctor Who Has An Old Connection To The Series http://wunc.org/post/tvs-new-doctor-who-has-old-connection-series <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nr3w3GYsvuo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slGx8ypE4ck</p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 41111 at http://wunc.org TV's New Doctor Who Has An Old Connection To The Series 4 More Things NBC Must Do To Save 'Meet The Press' http://wunc.org/post/4-more-things-nbc-must-do-save-meet-press In keeping with its recent tradition of drawn-out, publicly humiliating anchor switches, NBC has finally admitted it is replacing <em>Meet the Press</em> host David Gregory with the network's political director, Chuck Todd, on Sept. 7.<p>The switch had been rumored for months, as it became increasingly obvious that the Gregory-led <em>Meet the Press</em> was sinking in the ratings and failing to set the news agenda in ways it did when the late Tim Russert was at the helm. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 15:12:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 40889 at http://wunc.org 4 More Things NBC Must Do To Save 'Meet The Press' Robin Williams: A Supreme Talent Who Was Always On http://wunc.org/post/robin-williams-supreme-talent-who-was-always <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr1DSLoHni0</p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 11:45:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 40557 at http://wunc.org Robin Williams: A Supreme Talent Who Was Always On 'Purple Rain' Taught Me How To Be In A Band http://wunc.org/post/purple-rain-taught-me-how-be-band <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKVDdm-bpKY</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:14:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39664 at http://wunc.org 'Purple Rain' Taught Me How To Be In A Band 5 Things I Learned About TV's Future From The Critics Press Tour http://wunc.org/post/5-things-i-learned-about-tvs-future-critics-press-tour The voice came from over my shoulder, a shouted greeting in a room crowded with journalists, publicists, network executives, producers and stars.<p>I tuned to see David Boreanaz, star of the Fox TV show <em>Bones</em>, calling out to me like a long-lost friend. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39567 at http://wunc.org 5 Things I Learned About TV's Future From The Critics Press Tour Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero http://wunc.org/post/appreciating-james-garner-tvs-best-unhero I didn't know, watching Isaac Hayes push James Garner around on <em>The Rockford Files</em>, that I was seeing a special character continue an important television legacy.<p>All I knew, as a devoted fan of Garner's put-upon private eye, was that Jim Rockford seemed like a kind of hero you never saw anywhere else on television.<p>Perpetually strapped for cash and working a case that wasn't likely to change that situation, Rockford was a wrongly imprisoned ex-con who cloaked his heroism in a cynic's quips and world-weary attitude (Hayes was a physically intimidating fellow ex-con who always misp Sun, 20 Jul 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39308 at http://wunc.org Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity http://wunc.org/post/viola-davis-gets-groundbreaking-role-abc-bets-diversity <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNqqjDv6_dU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbSl-SPyHtg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOutgc-GG6g</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39096 at http://wunc.org Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations http://wunc.org/post/snubs-and-successes-6-lessons-learned-years-emmy-nominations There are things you could quibble about in the array of nominations announced today for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards.<p>No best drama series nomination for CBS' <em>The Good Wife</em>, though several stars got acting nods. No acting nomination for <em>Orphan Black</em> star Tatiana Maslany, though she plays about eight different roles on BBC America's clone-focused adventure drama. No best variety show nod for John Oliver's increasingly stellar <em>Last Week Tonight</em> on HBO. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 23:03:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 38786 at http://wunc.org Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations