Eric Deggans http://wunc.org en 'Purple Rain' Taught Me How To Be In A Band http://wunc.org/post/purple-rain-taught-me-how-be-band <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKVDdm-bpKY</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:14:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39664 at http://wunc.org 'Purple Rain' Taught Me How To Be In A Band 5 Things I Learned About TV's Future From The Critics Press Tour http://wunc.org/post/5-things-i-learned-about-tvs-future-critics-press-tour The voice came from over my shoulder, a shouted greeting in a room crowded with journalists, publicists, network executives, producers and stars.<p>I tuned to see David Boreanaz, star of the Fox TV show <em>Bones</em>, calling out to me like a long-lost friend. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39567 at http://wunc.org 5 Things I Learned About TV's Future From The Critics Press Tour Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero http://wunc.org/post/appreciating-james-garner-tvs-best-unhero I didn't know, watching Isaac Hayes push James Garner around on <em>The Rockford Files</em>, that I was seeing a special character continue an important television legacy.<p>All I knew, as a devoted fan of Garner's put-upon private eye, was that Jim Rockford seemed like a kind of hero you never saw anywhere else on television.<p>Perpetually strapped for cash and working a case that wasn't likely to change that situation, Rockford was a wrongly imprisoned ex-con who cloaked his heroism in a cynic's quips and world-weary attitude (Hayes was a physically intimidating fellow ex-con who always misp Sun, 20 Jul 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39308 at http://wunc.org Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity http://wunc.org/post/viola-davis-gets-groundbreaking-role-abc-bets-diversity <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNqqjDv6_dU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbSl-SPyHtg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOutgc-GG6g</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 39096 at http://wunc.org Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations http://wunc.org/post/snubs-and-successes-6-lessons-learned-years-emmy-nominations There are things you could quibble about in the array of nominations announced today for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards.<p>No best drama series nomination for CBS' <em>The Good Wife</em>, though several stars got acting nods. No acting nomination for <em>Orphan Black</em> star Tatiana Maslany, though she plays about eight different roles on BBC America's clone-focused adventure drama. No best variety show nod for John Oliver's increasingly stellar <em>Last Week Tonight</em> on HBO. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 23:03:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 38786 at http://wunc.org Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations Diane Sawyer's 'World News' Departure Sets Off Big Changes At ABC News http://wunc.org/post/diane-sawyers-world-news-departure-sets-big-changes-abc-news Diane Sawyer will leave her job as anchor of ABC News' flagship program, <em>World New</em>s, during the last week of August, capping a five-year run at the show and kicking off an anchor shuffle at the network.<p><em>Good Morning America </em>co-anchor George Stephanopoulos, who was widely seen as Sawyer's likely successor, won't go to <em>World News</em>. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:18:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 37908 at http://wunc.org Diane Sawyer's 'World News' Departure Sets Off Big Changes At ABC News 'Freedom Summer' And 'The Watsons': Powerful TV About A Civil Rights Journey http://wunc.org/post/freedom-summer-and-watsons-powerful-tv-about-civil-rights-journey <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iz0GpAB0Uf0</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:50:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 37858 at http://wunc.org 'Freedom Summer' And 'The Watsons': Powerful TV About A Civil Rights Journey Sputtering On Fumes, 'True Blood' Has Outstayed Its Welcome http://wunc.org/post/sputtering-fumes-true-blood-has-outstayed-its-welcome HBO's <em>True Blood</em>, which returns for its final season Sunday, is a prime example of a TV show that kept going long after it should have ended. It's not alone, though: Other shows have stayed too long at the party, including <em>Dexter</em> and <em>Law & Order: SVU</em>. Why is it that some shows stay on air well after they've run out of creative juice? <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:50:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 37660 at http://wunc.org Let's Be Careful Out There: The Legacy Of 'Hill Street Blues' http://wunc.org/post/lets-be-careful-out-there-legacy-hill-street-blues This is the moment that launched a TV revolution, every week. The police roll call: Sgt. Thu, 08 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 35170 at http://wunc.org Let's Be Careful Out There: The Legacy Of 'Hill Street Blues' 'Inside Amy Schumer,' Some Surprising Commentary http://wunc.org/post/inside-amy-schumer-some-surprising-commentary No one can send up sexism with a punch line quite like Amy Schumer.<p>"A lot of the women's magazines are supposed to, like, be confidence building, but they really just scare ... you so you buy the products in them," she says in one stand-up routine. "Like, they all will put Jessica Alba or somebody like that on the cover. And she's supersexualized no matter what magazine. ... Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 34251 at http://wunc.org 'Inside Amy Schumer,' Some Surprising Commentary