Bill Chappell http://wunc.org en Arizona Execution Of Inmate Takes Nearly 2 Hours http://wunc.org/post/arizona-execution-inmate-takes-nearly-two-hours Another U.S. execution has gone awry, as Arizona officials who were attempting to put inmate Joseph Rudolph Wood to death today instead watched him gasp and snort for more than an hour after the mix of lethal injection drugs was administered, Wood's attorney says.<p>Nearly two hours after the execution began at 1:52 p.m. local time Wednesday, Wood was pronounced dead at 3:49 p.m.<p>"Joe Wood is dead, but it took him two hours to die," said Troy Hayden of KSAZ-TV in Phoenix, who served as a witness. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:54:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39517 at http://wunc.org Arizona Execution Of Inmate Takes Nearly 2 Hours Campaign Finance Transparency Bill Gets Chilly Reception In Senate http://wunc.org/post/campaign-finance-transparency-bill-gets-chilly-reception-senate A bill that would require transparency by nonprofit groups related to federal elections met with united opposition from Republicans Wednesday, at the first Senate hearing on what its supporters call the Disclose Act.<p>The legislation would require any politically active group that spends more than $10,000 to list its donors. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:56:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39515 at http://wunc.org Obama Declares Emergency As Huge Fires Burn In Washington State http://wunc.org/post/obama-declares-emergency-huge-fires-burn-washington-state Fires are still raging in Washington state, where officials hope rain might help them contain the large fires — but there's also a chance that heavy rainfall could trigger flooding and mudslides.<p>Fire crews have been battling several major fires in central and eastern Washington for the past two weeks. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39510 at http://wunc.org Obama Declares Emergency As Huge Fires Burn In Washington State GM Recalls Nearly 718,000 Vehicles For 'Varying Safety Issues' http://wunc.org/post/gm-recalls-nearly-718000-vehicles-varying-safety-issues Announcing six different safety recalls Wednesday, GM said it needs to fix problems that range from a turn-signal bug to an unpredictable loss of power steering. The flaws were found in vehicles from model years 2011 to 2015.<p>GM says no deaths and only two crashes have been linked to the recalls, which come in a year that has already seen the Detroit carmaker recall nearly 30 million vehicles worldwide. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 19:13:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39489 at http://wunc.org Plane Crash In Taiwan Kills Dozens, Leaving Some Survivors http://wunc.org/post/plane-crash-taiwan-kills-dozens-leaving-some-survivors A domestic flight in Taiwan that was attempting to land in bad weather brought on by <a href="http://www.weather.com/news/weather-hurricanes/typhoon-matmo-taiwan-china-recap-20140723" target="_blank">a strong typhoon Wednesday night</a> crashed near the runway, killing as many as 47 of the 58 people aboard, according to multiple media outlets.<p>About a dozen survivors have reportedly been taken to local hospitals; the plane reportedly had 54 passengers and a crew of four.<p>From Kuala Lumpur, NPR's Anthony Kuhn reports:<p><blockquote><p>"The Transasia Airways turboprop plane took off from the Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:15:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39484 at http://wunc.org Plane Crash In Taiwan Kills Dozens, Leaving Some Survivors Fruit Recall Hits Trader Joe's, Costco, Wal-Mart Stores http://wunc.org/post/fruit-recall-hits-trader-joes-costco-wal-mart-stores Fears of possible listeria contamination have led to a national recall of whole peaches, nectarines and other fruits packed by a California company. No illnesses have been reported, but the Wawona Packing Co. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:13:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39442 at http://wunc.org Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart http://wunc.org/post/flight-mh17-us-builds-its-case-plane-wreckage-reportedly-cut-apart American analysts say they've verified several pieces of evidence that show pro-Russian separatist rebels shot down Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17, according to U.S. intelligence officials who briefed reporters Tuesday.<p>Here's a quick rundown of the officials' updates on what U.S. investigators have found, from notes taken by NPR's Pentagon reporter Tom Bowman:<p><ul><p><li>A U.S. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39440 at http://wunc.org Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart 9/11 Commission Issues An Update On Anniversary Of Report http://wunc.org/post/911-commission-issues-update-anniversary-report Ten years after its landmark report on terrorism, the 9/11 Commission has released an update in which it notes continued problems. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39415 at http://wunc.org Montana Judge Is Publicly Censured Over 30-Day Sentence For Rape http://wunc.org/post/montana-judge-publicly-censured-over-30-day-sentence-rape Less than a year after his lenient jail sentence for an admitted rapist stirred outrage, a Montana judge was publicly reprimanded today. In giving a former high school teacher <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/09/26/226450112/montana-rapist-being-freed-after-30-day-sentence">only a 30-day jail sentence</a>, District Judge G. Todd Baugh said the man's victim, a student, seemed older than her age, 14.<p>The case drew national attention last fall. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:44:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39408 at http://wunc.org Montana Judge Is Publicly Censured Over 30-Day Sentence For Rape North Korea Is Not Pleased: Dance Video Features Kim Jong Un http://wunc.org/post/north-korea-not-pleased-dance-video-features-kim-jong-un <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUgEmezpS_E</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 01:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 39368 at http://wunc.org North Korea Is Not Pleased: Dance Video Features Kim Jong Un