Laura Lee http://wunc.org en Behind The World Cup http://wunc.org/post/behind-world-cup <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In just two days, the World Cup Final will mark the end of a month-long tournament where 32 teams from across the globe faced-off to determine the world champion of football. The fandom for the World Cup runs deep. For the month, even those with little interest in the sport become fiercely loyal fans. The event reveals larger themes about society and culture. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:30:49 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 38619 at http://wunc.org Behind The World Cup State Senators Walk Out Of Budget Negotiations http://wunc.org/post/state-senators-walk-out-budget-negotiations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size:10pt;">Republican senators walked out of budget negotiations this morning at the General Assembly this morning. The move followed House Republican Senior Chairman Nelson Dollar's call for educators to speak to the joint body. </span></font></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 16:19:01 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 38679 at http://wunc.org State Senators Walk Out Of Budget Negotiations Red, White And Blue On The Silver Screen http://wunc.org/post/red-white-and-blue-silver-screen <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p>Tomorrow, across the nation, Americans will celebrate our independence with parades, barbeques and fireworks. Some will celebrate the holiday with an annual viewing of their favorite patriotic film.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 13:50:04 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 38359 at http://wunc.org Red, White And Blue On The Silver Screen Supergluing Your Face For Science http://wunc.org/post/supergluing-your-face-science <p></p><p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size:10pt;"><font face="Arial,sans-serif" size="3"><span style="font-size:12pt;">A project at the Museum of Natural Sciences pulls samples of face mites from subjects’ faces which can be examined under a microscope. </span></font></span></font></p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 16:13:13 +0000 Frank Stasio & Laura Lee 38302 at http://wunc.org Supergluing Your Face For Science Reflections From Former Chapel Hill Mayor Howard Lee http://wunc.org/post/reflections-former-chapel-hill-mayor-howard-lee <p></p><p></p><p>When Howard Lee was elected as mayor of Chapel Hill in 1969, he made history. Lee was the first African American elected to run a majority white city in the south since Reconstruction. The post marked the beginning of Lee’s long career in public service. Host Frank Stasio talks with Howard Lee and political junkie Ken Rudin.&nbsp; A <a href="http://www.unctv.org/content/biocon/howardlee/timeline">timeline from UNC-TV</a> traces Lee's long career in North Carolina politics and policymaking.</p><p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:06:03 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 38044 at http://wunc.org Reflections From Former Chapel Hill Mayor Howard Lee Meet Geri Dawson: Expanding The Field of Autism Research http://wunc.org/post/meet-geri-dawson-expanding-field-autism-research <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>When Geri Dawson was a graduate student in psychology, she chose an obscure field: autism. Little was known about the disease at the time. More than three decades later, <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/data.html">diagnoses have increased dramatically </a>and Dawson is a leader in the field.</p><p>Host Frank Stasio talks with Dawson, director of the Duke Center for Autism Diagnosis and Treatment, about her career and the state of autism research and treatment.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 15:48:15 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37755 at http://wunc.org Meet Geri Dawson: Expanding The Field of Autism Research Film Shows Coal Ash Effects Across Country http://wunc.org/post/film-shows-coal-ash-effects-across-country <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p></div><div><font style="font-family: Tahoma; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;"><span style="font-size: 11pt;">The coal ash spill in the Dan River earlier this year turned a public spotlight on the issue of coal ash disposal. The challenges around coal ash waste have existed in communities throughout the nation for decades.</span></font></div><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 16:22:50 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37490 at http://wunc.org Film Shows Coal Ash Effects Across Country Patriotic Themes On Silver Screen: Tell Us Your Favorite (Or Least Favorite) http://wunc.org/post/patriotic-themes-silver-screen-tell-us-your-favorite-or-least-favorite <p></p><p>What movie captures that patriotic feeling? Is it the President's speech in the 1996 hit Independence Day? Or the wholesome enthusiasm of Mr. Smith on his adventure to Washington?</p><p>As the 4th of July approaches, The State of Things movie experts Laura Boyes and Marsha Gordon look at patriotism on the big screen.</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 14:54:24 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37486 at http://wunc.org Patriotic Themes On Silver Screen: Tell Us Your Favorite (Or Least Favorite) Meet Sue Etheridge http://wunc.org/post/meet-sue-etheridge-0 <p>Today's program is a rebroadcast of an earlier show, Art Therapist Works With Incarcerated Patients.<a href="http://wunc.org/post/art-therapist-works-incarcerated-patients"> Images and audio here. </a></p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:39:38 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37359 at http://wunc.org Political Junkie Ken Rudin http://wunc.org/post/political-junkie-ken-rudin-3 <p><font color="black" face="Tahoma" size="2"><span dir="ltr" style="font-size:10pt;"><font size="2"><span style="font-size:11pt;">The unexpected primary defeat of House Majority leader Eric Cantor by his tea party backed challenger has pundits assessing the future of the GOP. What does Cantor’s loss mean for Congress and for the state of the Republican party? Plus, NC House Speaker Thom Tillis juggles his work as a legislator with his run for United States Senate. Host Frank Stasio talks with <a href="http://krpoliticaljunkie.com/">political junkie Ken Rudin</a> about the latest. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:55:06 +0000 Laura Lee & Frank Stasio 37228 at http://wunc.org