Adija Manley http://wunc.org en Superchunk: One Band, Two Decades, Ten Albums http://wunc.org/post/superchunk-one-band-two-decades-ten-albums <p><span style="">After 24 years together, the Chapel Hill indie-rock group <a href="http://allthesongssoundthesame.tumblr.com/">Superchunk</a><a href="http://allthesongssoundthesame.tumblr.com/"> </a>is releasing their 10<sup>th</sup> studio album, <a href="http://www.superchunk.com/ihm/index.html"><i>I Hate Music</i></a>. &nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="">Host Frank Stasio talks with band members Mac McCaughan and Jim Wilbur about the quirky album title and the band’s evolution. They will also perform&nbsp; acoustic versions of their latest songs. </span></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 15:53:17 +0000 Adija Manley & Frank Stasio 20889 at http://wunc.org Superchunk: One Band, Two Decades, Ten Albums Researcher Documents The Use Of Music In War http://wunc.org/post/researcher-documents-use-music-war <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-size:10.0pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;">World War II was fought not only with guns and bombs but also with strings, brass, and percussion. </span></p><p><span style="font-size: 10pt; font-family: &quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;">The American government used classical music as part of the war effort to demonstrate the cultural dominance of the Allies. The military also used songs to rally American troops. </span></p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 16:02:34 +0000 Adija Manley, Shawn Wen & Frank Stasio 20758 at http://wunc.org Researcher Documents The Use Of Music In War It's Called Ruby Red http://wunc.org/post/its-called-ruby-red <p></p><p>They will be playing tonight at <span class="aBn" data-term="goog_718639378" tabindex="0"><span class="aQJ">9 p.m.</span></span> at Cat's Cradle for their record release party.</p><p>Stuart McLamb, Jordan McLamb, Thomas Simpson, Eddie Sanchez, Andy Holmes and Autumn Ehinger join Frank Stasio in the studio today to discuss <i>Ruby Red</i> and The Love Language's upcoming performance. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 15:57:09 +0000 Frank Stasio & Adija Manley 19673 at http://wunc.org It's Called Ruby Red Young Band Spreads Its Musical Wings http://wunc.org/post/young-band-spreads-its-musical-wings <p>Out of the Shenandoah Valley,<a href="http://www.manynightsahead.com/%E2%80%8E"> Many Nights Ahead </a>is a young 7-member bluegrass band looking to grow. Their music is influenced by the Shenandoah Valley and their backgrounds in genres such as blues and metal.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 14:48:03 +0000 Adija Manley, Frank Stasio & Mark Haywood 19255 at http://wunc.org Young Band Spreads Its Musical Wings An Early Return Home From Egypt http://wunc.org/post/early-return-home-egypt <p>Students involved in Duke University’s summer program in Cairo, Egypt&nbsp; came home early.&nbsp; They left as large protests and a changing political climate shook the country. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 16:11:46 +0000 Shawn Wen, Frank Stasio & Adija Manley 19187 at http://wunc.org An Early Return Home From Egypt Love Army Fights NC General Assembly With Music http://wunc.org/post/love-army-fights-nc-general-assembly-music <p>Two weeks ago, the North Carolina Music Love Army did not exist. It was just an idea. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 15:02:21 +0000 Frank Stasio, Adija Manley & Mark Haywood 18833 at http://wunc.org Love Army Fights NC General Assembly With Music Mr. Tol E. Rance Comes To Town http://wunc.org/post/mr-tol-e-rance-comes-town <p>Three years ago, Camille A. Brown made the decision to form her own dance company, <a href="http://www.camilleabrown.org/">Camille A. Brown &amp; Dancers</a>. Wed, 10 Jul 2013 16:21:38 +0000 Shawn Wen, Adija Manley & Frank Stasio 18685 at http://wunc.org Mr. Tol E. Rance Comes To Town Bluegrass Band 'Town Mountain' on Tour http://wunc.org/post/bluegrass-band-town-mountain-tour <p>Last year, <a href="http://townmountain.net/">Town Mountain</a> released their album <em>Leave the Bottle.</em>&nbsp; On <a href="http://wncw.org/post/wncws-2012-top-100-results">WNCW’s “Top 100 of 2012”</a> list, the&nbsp; Asheville-based bluegrass band's album earned the #19 spot.&nbsp;</p><p>Town Mountain is playing tonight in Raleigh at The <a href="http://www.thepourhousemusichall.com/">Pour House Music Hall</a>.&nbsp; The band joins Frank Stasio today in the studio to tell us about themselves and play a few songs.</p><p>Listen to their song "Come Break My Heart."</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 15:59:56 +0000 Adija Manley, Mark Haywood & Frank Stasio 17669 at http://wunc.org Bluegrass Band 'Town Mountain' on Tour Musician Jeanne Jolly Returns From National Tour http://wunc.org/post/musician-jeanne-jolly-returns-national-tour <p><a href="http://www.jeannejolly.com/">Jeanne Jolly</a> visited our studio a year ago in the early stages of working on her album, “Angels.” Now, she is back in the midst of a national tour promoting her album. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 15:20:06 +0000 Adija Manley & Frank Stasio 17237 at http://wunc.org Musician Jeanne Jolly Returns From National Tour