Anastasia Tsioulcas http://wunc.org en How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game http://wunc.org/post/how-three-tenors-sang-hits-and-changed-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcGoY4COi-I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNQeKvVPPlc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXQGyYy-oZI</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:29:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 39075 at http://wunc.org How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://wunc.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37835 at http://wunc.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts http://wunc.org/post/rhythm-thats-waltzed-away-hearts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ek3eCbfqp0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEfp_ZeiT0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YZpng2PL34</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjnhGwxQkFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GWaNt9pPQM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZD_ZzubDxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_X9Plz0zc4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k1RjZ-SOLU</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37469 at http://wunc.org A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://wunc.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:06:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36656 at http://wunc.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech http://wunc.org/post/read-joyce-didonatos-inspiring-juilliard-commencement-speech Star mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16004057/joyce-didonato" target="_blank">Joyce DiDonato</a> gave the 2014 commencement address at Juilliard Friday — and it's a memorable one, both for her words and by DiDonato's own example as someone whose own career began under low heat.<p>DiDonato has <a href="http://www.joycedidonato.com/2014/05/27/the-juilliard-schools-109th-commencement-speech-joyce-didonato/" target="_blank">posted</a> the text of her speech on her own website, and it's well worth 10 minutes of your time, whether you're an aspiring artist or need a gentle reminder Wed, 28 May 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36293 at http://wunc.org Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://wunc.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 16:57:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35833 at http://wunc.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? http://wunc.org/post/does-accepting-rose-mean-losing-career <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEWAHLK6cqM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9QQjrVT3PE</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 21:08:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35785 at http://wunc.org Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://wunc.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 16:21:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35035 at http://wunc.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://wunc.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 33182 at http://wunc.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years http://wunc.org/post/kronos-quartet-still-daring-after-all-these-years Kronos Quartet is celebrating 40 years of playing music together — and to mark the occasion, they're playing a celebration concert at Carnegie Hall in New York tomorrow night. Since their founding, the San Francisco-based string quartet has become one of the most visible ensembles in classical music. The players have done it by championing new and underheard music, and by coming up with a business model that was unheard of for a chamber group four decades ago.<p>Violinist David Harrington dreamed up the idea of a string quartet devoted primarily to contemporary music in 1973. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 07:01:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 32765 at http://wunc.org The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years